Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Postby Mare on Mon May 17, 2010 4:45 pm

I've installed mint 9 and I get this

Image

When running on live CD this worked, now I have to search for a program here and install it with Synaptic. It keeps that screen for ever. Any solution?
Mare
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 4:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Postby romy21415 on Sun May 23, 2010 1:28 am

Have you solved this? I get the same thing and can't seem to find any information about this error message online. This only happens intermittently for me. Sometimes things install fine, sometimes I get this message.
romy21415
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:24 am

Re: Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Postby mick55 on Sun May 23, 2010 2:07 am

Another application is running which is accessing software information.

It could be update manager or synaptic or some other app that accesses the repos.

Check the resource manager or open a terminal and run
Code: Select all
top


See if you can identify another process that is accessing the same info.

Make sure your install CD is not marked as an update source.

Reboot, run update manager and try installing your program again.
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
mick55
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Postby romy21415 on Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:13 pm

Solved Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite


thank you. i unselected the cd as a source.

romy
romy21415
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:24 am

Re: Software Manager - Waiting for lock, Infinite

Postby PakJobs.pk on Mon May 14, 2012 10:47 am

which code to try? i cannot see any code here
mick55 wrote:Another application is running which is accessing software information.

It could be update manager or synaptic or some other app that accesses the repos.

Check the resource manager or open a terminal and run
Code: Select all
top


See if you can identify another process that is accessing the same info.

Make sure your install CD is not marked as an update source.

Reboot, run update manager and try installing your program again.
PakJobs.pk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:31 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: coffee412 and 13 guests