Helena finding ram

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Helena finding ram

Postby richie43 on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:08 pm

I am using Helena 64bit with 4g's of ram. The process monitor says 3.7g's. Is this normal or do I need a different kernel. I currently have 2.6.31-14.48 for x86/x86_64. I have levels 1-3 accepted in updates. Any ideas? Thanks.

Rich
richie43
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:31 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Helena finding ram

Postby hinto on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:13 pm

Only two things I can think of (and I'm not a computer engineer).
Rounding error?
Integrated video chip?

-Hinto
What brought me to Debian was one-stop shopping.
What brought me to SID was apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade.
User avatar
hinto
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: Cary NC, USA

Re: Helena finding ram

Postby richie43 on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:17 pm

Could you elaborate? I'm not a TOTAL newb, but no expert either. Is there anything I can do to increase the ram recognized by Mint? If not, is there any advantage to using 64bit over 32bit?
richie43
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:31 am

Re: Helena finding ram

Postby MikeA36 on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:22 pm

He meant, and it is most likely that you have a 256meg integrated video card in your computer...correct?
MikeA36
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:27 pm

Re: Helena finding ram

Postby hinto on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:25 pm

Yes.
Thing like that (integrated video) "steal" physical ram... as well as cpu cycles.
Rounding error is how the reporting software displays what say, 1K, 1MB, 1GB is.
-Hinto
What brought me to Debian was one-stop shopping.
What brought me to SID was apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade.
User avatar
hinto
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: Cary NC, USA

Re: Helena finding ram

Postby richie43 on Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:26 pm

Nvidia. Does that mean yes? I am also on the Mint chat, and it seems like that is the answer. Again, is there an advantage to be using the 64bit Helena with 4g's ram?
richie43
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:31 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: acw89, Bing [Bot] and 26 guests