I can help testing on AMD64

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

I can help testing on AMD64

Postby Openxworld on Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:12 pm

I can be involved in a testing project of Linux Mint on AMD64 architecture

So if you want.... a votre bon vouloir
User avatar
Openxworld
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby phantommaggot on Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:05 am

ill test as well
please,
ive used mint for like 2 days, but i already think it is much nicer than other distros
so id love to have it work my 64bit chip to its fullest!
phantommaggot
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:08 pm

Postby Fragadelic on Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:39 pm

The biggest issue with anything Linux and 64-bit is the lack of support for flash adn used to be media. Mplayer now apparently works on 64-bit but flash does not unless you install a 32-bit browser which defeats the purpose of having a 64-bit OS.

Phoronix has done a benchmark comparison between 32-bit and 64-bit and there is very little difference between them on teh same 64-bit hardware.

Bottom line is that for right now, 64-bit is really a waste of time on either Linux or Windows since it doesn't give you any benefits and apps are very hard to come by still.

Some will argue this but this has been my experience with 64-bit vs 32-bit linux.

Here is the link to the Phoronix comparison:

http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=8325
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:40 pm

It might make a noticeable difference for users of Gentoo or any other source based distro since you have to compile everything anyway but for the rest of us real world users, there are not tangible benefits to 64-bit right now as you can see from the benchmarks. In fact, you'll see that 32-bit in some cases is faster.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby qdlaty on Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:36 pm

I made "Mint64" by installing Ubuntu64 and adding Mint packages and themes.
Was not hard and work very well.
User avatar
qdlaty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:20 pm

Postby maty1206 on Tue Sep 18, 2007 2:41 am

qdlaty wrote:I made "Mint64" by installing Ubuntu64 and adding Mint packages and themes.
Was not hard and work very well.


Hi friend. I'm maty1206 Spanish forum moderator and Linxu Mint develop team.

I'm really interested in your edition of Mint for AMD64.

Can you give me a copy of your editions for show it to Clem.

He will be really happy and interested in test your edition. If everything works properly, I hope that your edition could be one more of the official Mint Editions, like XFCE, GNOME, KDE.

Please, upload your iso image to a Ftp or a free hosting and share to me the link.


Thanks
Linux Mint apps translator
maty1206
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Postby gollum1971 on Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:09 pm

Oh Yeah a 64bit

Please please please ! lol

Aiden
Image
gollum1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ormskirk, England

Postby newW2 on Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:36 pm

qdlaty - did you create it like this, or similar to this?

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=12061
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Postby teemac on Mon Sep 24, 2007 1:58 am

I would also love to be able to use Mint64.

Currently I have 5 machines and have to use Kubuntu64 because of 24/7 data processing (BOINC), but the Mint32 version is what I put on all my friends computers.

I am missing out on all the Minty Goodness :( while my friends benefit from this excellent distro.
teemac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 2:01 am

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:14 am

Fragadelic is right - there is very little to gain from 64 bit in a desktop (servers and special machines are another story)
But it will probably eventually be the norm....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby eLqUIA on Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:35 pm

Well Hello Guys (and Gals):
1- I´m a life time windows (arrrghhh) user, started out there with DOS 4.0.
2- I´m now on Vista x64 running Ubuntu x64 in a VMWare machine and MINT 5.0 in a VirtualBox (Sun) machine.
3- Rig is AMD AM2 4200 w/2GB RAM and 2 x 250GB SATA in RAID (stripping).
4- If I can afford it, next month I´ll be changing micro to an phenom x4 quadcore and 4 GB of ram
5- Maybe, repeat: maybe I´ll start dual booting windows and linux.
6- As a long life windows user: vista is the best WINDOWS to date. With XP I had at lease once a week a BSOD. It´s been a year with vista and ONLY ONCE IVE HAD A BSOD (installed a bad driver). I havn´t turnd off my pc in the las 30 days. Vista works and it IS fast guys.

Base Line is: I like to do everything faster, I do a lot of image and audio editing, some video also.

But... I hate Bill. I Love to tinker, AKA Linux. Started with Mandriva, arrhhhggghhh, Followed w ubuntu... DISCOVERED MINT: I Love the eye candy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE that its easier to use than ubuntu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. But... there are a LOT of proggies that you CANT find for linux: gimp is NOT photoshop. UbuntuStudio is NOT Audition, etc. So I will live with both, BUT ONLY 64 BIT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

I believe MINT is the right way to Go Clem!!!!, but remember windows 3.11 versus 95, aka 16 bits versus 32 bits: Im hearing the same stuff now. 64bit (and in a couple of years 128 bit) is the FUTURE

PLEASE: WHEN WILL WE SEA X64 MINT????????????????'

KEEP ON WITH THE GREAAAAATTTTTTTTT WORK
eLqUIA
 

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby KakarotUSMC on Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:02 pm

I am also throwing my hat in the ring as a volunteer to beta test a 64-bit edition.

I've got a fairly decent rig, with a 3 GHz Conroe, 4GB RAM, and an nVidia 8800GT. It should represent a good portion of Mint users.

Please let me know when you're ready to begin Clem, and I'll be happy to donate some time.
Edit by husse// Never leave your email publicly unless you love spam :)
E-Mail: captaincoxusmc
at
yahoo.com
User avatar
KakarotUSMC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:53 am
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby matthewsmith93 on Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:02 pm

I can also volunteer to test and develop Mint64. I switched from Mandriva to Mint several months ago and run Elyssa on a 32 bit laptop with 1 gig of RAM and a dual core AMD64 with onboard NVIDIA graphics and sound.
matthewsmith93
 

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby Thomas on Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:09 pm

I'm willing to help in any kind of porting to be done and/or test it.
Thomas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby matthew_smith93 on Sun Sep 07, 2008 1:02 pm

matthewsmith93 wrote:I can also volunteer to test and develop Mint64. I switched from Mandriva to Mint several months ago and run Elyssa on a 32 bit laptop with 1 gig of RAM and a dual core AMD64 with onboard NVIDIA graphics and sound.


Meant to imply that those are separate machines, one laptop and one desktop. Sorry if that wasn't clear.

qdlaty wrote:I made "Mint64" by installing Ubuntu64 and adding Mint packages and themes.

Was not hard and work very well.


I'm going to install Ubuntu 64 later this evening and start playing around with it and using remastersys. If anyone wants an .iso I should have one ready in a few days.
matthew_smith93
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 9:10 am

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby knuckles on Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:36 am

if there is a remastersys iso with a Ubuntu64/mint mix, I'm to interested to test this!!

next week i got my new PC with a core2quad Q9300 CPU, so i can to help testing mint64!

For mi personal uses i don't see the advantage to use 64bit, but i'm always interested to test new things. :D :D
Sorry for my BAD English!!
User avatar
knuckles
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Luxembourg

Re: I can help testing on AMD64

Postby clem on Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:31 pm

Mint 5 x64 Edition is almost ready. We've identified 3 bugs so I'm working on fixing them, as for an RC release stay tuned it could come out soon.

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: I can help testing on my new Thinkpad

Postby Guest on Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:08 pm

I'd be happy to help test as well. My linux technical ability is limited to cutting and pasting commands into the terminal. But I'll try! :D
Guest
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 35 guests