broadcom bcm4311 solution

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

broadcom bcm4311 solution

Postby average_user on Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:19 am

My English is basic, so I apologize for the brevity.
I have linux mint maya x86 @ dell ispiron e1705. This is a solution how to enable wifi broadcom bcm4311 kfbg. The solution I found here: http://nfolamp.wordpress.com/2011/10/15 ... 1-working/

Code: Select all
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer


Two other orders were not necessary and wifi was working without rebooting.
I hope this helps.
Cheers :wink:
Mike
User avatar
average_user
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:01 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: broadcom bcm4311 solution

Postby edwardr on Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:04 am

I followed the instructions in the link under "The Solution" and it worked for my Dell Inspiron 1721 with BCM4311 wireless. I am posting this from my new installation of Mint 13 Xfce with working wireless, thanks!
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds; and the pessimist fears this is true
User avatar
edwardr
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:09 pm
Location: USA - Texas

Re: broadcom bcm4311 solution

Postby pnut_inspiron_1520 on Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:50 am

Thank you

Image

Happy Linux :D
pnut_inspiron_1520
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:44 am

Re: broadcom bcm4311 solution

Postby oldrong on Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:18 pm

I have tried everything I can find on my Dell Precision M6300, and nothing works. I found a way once, but after a reboot it quit working, and I haven't been able to find that page again. This didn't work either. sorry to say.
User avatar
oldrong
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: broadcom bcm4311 solution

Postby arcane76 on Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:46 pm

You need to uninstall the sta driver before installing irmware-b43-installer.

for more information see this link
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=105900
arcane76
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:36 pm


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests