Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Write tutorials and howtos in here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Postby jmcook79 on Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:17 pm

I just got my scanner working via usb (no wifi yet) by adding the ubuntu quantal repositories and updating libsane. I'm sure the latest version of libsane will probably be included in the next version of mint but if you need it to work now this is the easiest option (the other being compiling it from source code) Here's how:

WARNING!!! Make sure you make a backup and be ready to risk screwing up your system since adding unstable repositories is not safe!

First add Quantal to ypur apt soutces by opening a terminal and typing sudo apt-add-repository 'deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal main restricted'

Second type sudo apt-get update

Third type sudp apt-get install libsane. This will also download the required dependencies.

Finally type sudo apt-add-repository -r 'deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal main restricted'

This removes the Quantal repositories so you don't accidentally upgrade your entire system!

Now you should be able to use Simple Scan and it will detect your printer!

Now you should be able to use your Kodal esp scanner via usb.

To get wifi working, go to your printer and find out your ip address then open a terminal and type:

sudo pluma /etc/sane.d/kodakaio.conf

now edit the line that says

# kodak ESP5250 is usb 0x040a 0x4041
#net 192.168.1.68 0x4041

Make sure to remove the # from the second line and add the IP address to your printer. Mine was exactly the same except the last number, It's because autodetect doesn't work properly. Leave the 0x4041 (or whateveryours has) in place.

Now wifi should be working!
Last edited by jmcook79 on Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
jmcook79
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:20 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Postby AlbertP on Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:00 am

You can also just download and install the DEB packages from Quantal, in this order:

liblzma5: http://packages.ubuntu.com/quantal/liblzma5
libtiff5: http://packages.ubuntu.com/quantal/libtiff5
libsane-common: http://packages.ubuntu.com/quantal/libsane-common
libsane: http://packages.ubuntu.com/quantal/libsane
Downloads for i386 (32-bit) and amd64 (64-bit, also for Intel systems) are at the bottom. Then you don't need to add the repository.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Postby jmcook79 on Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:25 pm

That's good to know! I thought about doing that but I didn't know how deep the dependancies went and that's why I just added the repositories. Now that I know however I definately reccomend your method. BTW do you know how to get the wifi working? The documentation says it should work..
jmcook79
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:20 pm

Re: Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Postby AlbertP on Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:28 pm

You should be able to add the printer on the wifi by searching on its IP address with system-config-printer (from the repository), but I'm not sure if network scanning also works. For HP all-in-ones it works that way. The manpage of the scanning driver (http://www.sane-project.org/man/sane-kodakaio.5.html) doesn't tell anything about network connections.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Getting Kodak ESP/AIO all in one scanners to work

Postby jmcook79 on Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:43 am

I finally managed to get wifi working! I had to manually edit the kodakaio.conf and add my scanner's IP address. In the notes in the kodakaio.conf it says autodetect is broken. Here are my results:

mike@mike-Aspire-5534 ~ $ scanimage -L
device `kodakaio:net:192.168.1.68?model=0x4041' is a Kodak KODAK ESP 5200 Series AiO flatbed scanner
jmcook79
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:20 pm


Return to Tutorials / Howtos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests