XP in a virtualbox on linux mint (OUTDATED)

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

XP in a virtualbox on linux mint (OUTDATED)

Postby tawan on Wed May 07, 2008 1:42 am

Out of date info, please look elsewhere.



You will need a copy of windows XP. You will need plenty of ram and at least 6Gb spare harddrive. (i'm on an oldish laptop but with 2gb ram and it's fine)

Nothing here will get you in trouble but I do need to improve the tutorial in places, so good luck, i hope you don't get stuck -- you will be fine, honest :D

NOTE: May 2008 version 1.5 supplied in Package Manager has a know bug (can't share drives between computers) This Version (1.6) is much nicer. It has various improvements making some of the following tutorial easier.

Note: virtualbox probably isn't for you if you want full on power and 3D funky stuff. I use this only for FlashCS3 which for now does not work in Wine - anyway it will do you no harm to try as it can all be removed if you don't like it.

1) Daryna menu (or Elyssa soon:)) > Package Manager > Password "billgatessucks" > Search > "virtualbox"

(i get 4 options here - virtualbox-ose, virtualbox-ose modules (generic), virtualbox-ose modules (server), virtualbox-ose source)

i clicked to install the top two virtualbox-ose and virtualbox-ose modules (generic)

apply.

2) Daryan menu > System Tools (maybe different in Elyssa) > Innotec Virtualbox

You will become familiar with this window so don't hate it :-)

click "new" > next > now add a name "bloodywindows" or "myXP" > choose OS type XP > next

choose the amount of ram for the machine, leave a lot for linux and take enough for XP i find 600mb (out of my 2gb) is good - you can edit this later as many times as you like.

the new hardisk screen > click new > next > dynamically expanding is best for me (fixed run quicker they say) > next

choose a size, 6GB is about minimum for XP and a couple of apps - so upwards of that is better eg 10GB, 20.... > next > finish

now you are back at the virtualbox OSE window but it has a new machine in there

3) daryna menu > administration > users and groups > your name > properties > advanced > change main group

add yourself there to vboxusers, failing to do this will give you the error; "The VirtualBox kernel driver is not accessible to the current user. Make sure that the user has write permissions for /dev/vboxdrv by adding them to the vboxusers groups. You will need to logout for the change to take effect.."

or in terminal;

Code: Select all
sudo adduser yourusername vboxusers


Now log out and back into Mint (3 finger salute CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE)

don't expect to be up and running yet with out a few restarts of the virtual machine and a few more settings...

4) In the VirtualBox OSE window, select your machine > settings > share the CD drive...

put an XP disc in your disc drive > click you new machine in the virtualbox OSE window > start > next (double check these options, they should be fine) > next

machine boots > install windows XP > be very very bored for some time (if you get your mouse 'stuck' in the virtual machine - press the RIGHT CNTRL key to release it)

5) when it's done installing XP > go to the menus up top of the window containing XP > Devices > install guest options (this does loads of cool funky stuff like letting you run in seamless mode)

- if this wont work > shut down windows and try again (you may also need to 'run' the guest additions somehow (improvement needed here by me)

6) anyway once the guest additions bit is done you will be able to get sound and run the machine full screen - even seamlessly - but...

Sound - with the machine shut down and guest additions installed > click the machine in the virtualbox OSE window > click settings > audio > ALSA

Seamless window thang - you can possibly skip this in the latest release of virtualbox
i) with windows running make a short cut to my documents or calculator or something else that runs "not maximised or minimised"
ii) put that shortcut in "startup items" (that folder in your start menu) - this is weird but seamless mode wont work if something is maximised or minimised and you HAVE to have this thing open all the time you are in seamless mode - hence you make it run at startup and get used to not closing it. - weird i know :-)
iii) open that 'thing' eg "my documents" and make sure it is not maximised or minimised
iv) now RIGHT CNTRL + L puts you in seamless mode. you may have to adjust the size and position of the windows start menu to make sure its visible)

the main point here is if you get weird graphical problems with the desktop going black - then re-read the above confusing bit

(something like AWN windows manager lets you navigate between your Linux programs and Windows Box)

7) sharing drives - you will want to share a drive or folder between linux and windows so ...

problems in virtualbox 1.5 - don't use it, use 1.4 or 1.6

with the widows beast shut down go to the virtualbox OSE window > your machine > settings > shared folders > add something like home/yourname - this is all done by click, click, click - you should manage it alone. (i must improve this bit)

now boot up XP again > start > run > type "cmd" > in there type "net use x: \\vboxsvr\sharename"

"x:" just becomes the drive windows uses for this folder "sharename" is the name (not location) of the folder you chose above.

this can also be done using the Network Places or Mount.
besides personal tweaking you are done :D

sorry if you got stuck anywhere - i will improve this with your comments and help.
Last edited by tawan on Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:53 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Husse on Thu May 08, 2008 6:05 pm

Thank you
I don't think we have such a tutorial before
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Tony G on Tue May 20, 2008 1:29 am

First off, nice guide.

I'll add some more comments soon. But first, a couple of questions:

First, how does one address the need to register one's virtualized copy of XP? I enter my 25 digit product code, but it won't accept it (OEM disk for a Presario laptop). I've Googled, and neither of the two solutions (a crack, or calling MS phone registration for help) seem appealing.
## Edited 5/23/08:
# I stand corrected. I decided why not call MS just to say I did. Completely automated system. Asked me some questions (e.g., How many computers have you installed XP on? [One]. Have you made any significant hardware changes? [Yes].), and gave me a new product key. Virtualized copy is now legit. I will make a determination as to whether the virtualized or the "real" version is the one I want, and delete the loser.

Second, I've received competing info regarding whether antivirus is necessary/desirable for a virtual XP. I thought I'd try going with no av, but create a user account with reduced privileges to thwart malware. However, when I execute "net use x: \\vboxsvr\[share name]", I get "System error 67" "The network cannot be found". As admin, though, I set up the share no problem.

Thanks,

Anthony
Last edited by Tony G on Fri May 23, 2008 9:28 pm, edited 3 times in total.
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz
User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Tony G on Wed May 21, 2008 12:06 pm

So this thread aggregates useful VirtualBox info, here's how to slipstream SP3 into an XP install disk (so you install an already up-to-date XP). Also, here's a link to the wiki on mounting USB devices in VirtualBox.
## Edited 5/23/08:
# My slipstreamed copy left me with IE6, not 7. Don't know if this is because I didn't do the slipstream right, or if that's just how it goes. I'm updating to IE7 as I type.

On the antivirus front, I can report the following:

My first XP VM got infected by a virus within 24 hours. This was probably my fault for running/downloading with IE unprotected (I hadn't yet figured out that I could download a Win installer to a shared folder from Mint). When I installed BitDefender on the VM, it was slow and very buggy, though I can't say whether this was because I was already infected. But KlamAV installed easily on Mint KDE, and found the infection in the XP virtual disk.

So, I tossed the VM and installed a new one. I then installed guest additions (step 5 above), added the "x: drive" to the Owner account (step 7), and installed the windows-only program that I "need" to run. I then re-scanned ~/.VirtualBox with Klam, and I now have an infection-free version of XP. I'm now experimenting with the different techniques for securing XP in Gizmo's Guide to Securing Your PC (Option 1 didn't work; moving on to options 2 & 3).
Last edited by Tony G on Fri May 23, 2008 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz
User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Thu May 22, 2008 5:57 am

hi Tony G, glad you found the tutorial helpful.

I only had the "System error 67" "The network cannot be found" or similar with Virtualbox 1.5, it is a known bug - i did not get it with 1.4 or 1.6 - but i run as administrator only and have not tried accounts.

security - i installed the excellent and free virus scanner from free-av.com - just out of habit - i don't allow windows to go on line and download anything for it from Linux and share - like you spotted you can do.

it seems like you are ok - or did i miss your questions?
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Tony G on Fri May 23, 2008 9:18 pm

Phonic,

I'm not sure if I had any questions, given how thorough your guide is, so much as was babbling about what I'd done, in the vague and vain hope it might help someone else too. :)

I edited above to show that I called MS US just to say that I had (expecting they would be no help in registering my virtualized copy), and instead the automated system gave me a new product key, so my virtualized XP is legit. 8)

For now, as it's not tax season (the only reason I would have to go to an IE/MS-only website), I'm running my VM without an AV, periodically scanning ~/.VirtualBox with Klam. (As an aside, I tried AVG for linux, and ran screaming back to Klam; pity, I liked Grisoft). Until 2009, I see no reason why I will have to connect to the Internet through XP, aside from keeping XP up-to-date (it will be interesting to see if that alone subjects me to a drive-by).

So, I've installed the software I need (a billing program that's MS only, and XYplorer as a file manager), made my virtual XP legit, and taken a snapshot for when things get borked.

I'm going to re-read the tutorial, to see if there's anything I can constructively add to. But again, thanks (especially for the heads-up re: using version 1.6).

Best,

Anthony
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz
User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Tony G on Fri May 23, 2008 9:52 pm

The download link to VirtualBox 1.6 is borked. This link should work (for now) (otherwise google "virtualbox 1.6 deb" and pick the second [Sun] site).
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz
User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby Tony G on Thu May 29, 2008 9:16 am

Piratesmack also wrote in the Newbie Questions section of the fora a how-to on VirtualBox (Again, I'm posting for aggregation).

Best,

Anthony
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz
User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Stuck on virtualbox shared folders

Postby Verlager on Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:11 am

I read this post and followed the instructions for Shared Folders in virtualbox 1.6.2 OSE to the best of my abilities.
I clicked settings/shared folders/ and added bin /home/rmack/bin (full access) and clicked OK. In XP, I ran cmd, net use x: \\vboxsvr\bin but received an error:
System error 67 has occurred. The network name cannot be found.

What's wrong? How can I fix this?
Verlager
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:23 pm

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:25 am

hi verlager

that error was a big problem on v1.5. I had it with 1.5 and even on installing 1.6 still had it - I had to completely remove any trace of virtualbox, install 1.6 again and it went smoothly.

If you are getting this error with 1.6 i'm quite mystified as to why. May i suggest you try the virtualbox forums and post back with a solution when you find one? :)

sorry I can't help, maybe someone else can.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Stuck on virtualbox shared folders

Postby tawan on Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:34 am

Verlager wrote:I read this post and followed the instructions for Shared Folders in virtualbox 1.6.2 OSE to the best of my abilities.
I clicked settings/shared folders/ and added bin /home/rmack/bin (full access) and clicked OK. In XP, I ran cmd, net use x: \\vboxsvr\bin but received an error:
System error 67 has occurred. The network name cannot be found.

What's wrong? How can I fix this?


ok this is a late reply, but to anyone in the same situation, reinstall guest additions again, until the error goes away.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby felesial on Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:52 am

hi;

thanks for this tutorial,

i've got two errors when i starting "bloodywindows" =)

i took a screenshot, i'll be very glad if you take a look. : http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... hotqq8.png
felesial
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby AK Dave on Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:18 am

This tutorial is woefully out of date. If you're using anything older than Virtualbox 2.1 then you really really really need to upgrade.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:15 am

felesial wrote:hi;

thanks for this tutorial,

i've got two errors when i starting "bloodywindows" =)

i took a screenshot, i'll be very glad if you take a look. : http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... hotqq8.png

The tutorial is out of date. If you follow the basic idea it is ok but version numbers and certain things will have changed.

I can't seem to load your screenshot, is the link working?
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby felesial on Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:53 am

phonicboom wrote:
felesial wrote:hi;

thanks for this tutorial,

i've got two errors when i starting "bloodywindows" =)

i took a screenshot, i'll be very glad if you take a look. : http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... hotqq8.png

The tutorial is out of date. If you follow the basic idea it is ok but version numbers and certain things will have changed.

I can't seem to load your screenshot, is the link working?



http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/3996 ... hotqq8.png

Image
Image

maybe one of these links working..
felesial
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:35 am

are you a member of vboxusers and did you logout since then?

did you run the command the error said ./etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup ?

did you try DKMS?

actually what i'd do it go to the sun site and find the newest deb of the OSE, try again, good luck.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby AK Dave on Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:42 pm

What version of Vbox are you trying to use? This whole business with "OSE" makes me think someone is still stuck in the past thinking about vbox 1.6, not vbox 2.1.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:25 am

i have not used VirtualBox since the last time I edited this tutorial so not only is the tutorial out of date but I am too.

Maybe someone can do a new tutorial who has more recent knowledge and this tutorial can sink away to the depths of the forum :)
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby felesial on Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:56 am

phonicboom wrote:are you a member of vboxusers and did you logout since then?

did you run the command the error said ./etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup ?

did you try DKMS?

actually what i'd do it go to the sun site and find the newest deb of the OSE, try again, good luck.



i'm using the 2.0.4 version and when i enter the command:

felesial@felesial-laptop ~ $ ./etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
bash: ./etc/init.d/vboxdrv: No such file or directory

and i don't know what is DKMS
felesial
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: how to: setup XP in a virtualbox on linux mint

Postby tawan on Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:59 am

As I no longer use VirtualBox and no one else has an answer right now I would suggest that you try the virtualbox forums or google for;

Code: Select all
Intrepid VirtualBox 'the error message'


sorry to be of no help :) good luck!
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fred Barclay and 18 guests