How to access applications directly without using terminal

Write tutorials and howtos in here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

How to access applications directly without using terminal

Postby caesarn on Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:01 pm

Being a Linux newbie, I want to know if I can (and how to) access an application by a click instead of typing its name in the TERMINAL.
caesarn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to access applications directly without using terminal

Postby Fred on Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:20 pm

caesarn,

There are CLI programs that must be accessed from the terminal, but I would think the programs you would be interested in at this point in your learning curve would have GUIs. These you should be able to access from the menu with a click of the mouse.

Fred

EDIT: This is in the wrong forum. It should probably be in the "Newbie Questions" area.
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: How to access applications directly without using terminal

Postby LivoniaBoss on Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm

just make a launcher by right click on desktop with mouse and in the launcher you make put the command you want it to do

for exp.
type: application with terminal
name of launcher here
command here: su root
comments or any other info here


click ok and your done

this will not work with all things but will do the trick for alot anways just what i found to be somewhat usefull hope this helps.
LivoniaBoss
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: How to access applications directly without using terminal

Postby AK Dave on Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:42 pm

This is how I launch angband from mintmenu. :P
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA


Return to Tutorials / Howtos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests