NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Write tutorials and howtos in here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby NateFlax on Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:32 am

Hello, I'm completely new to Linux.
I made a DualBoot with Windows Vista Basic & Linux Mint 6.0. I finished installing Mint a few hours ago, but i've run into a big problem: My Wireless card isn't working properly :cry: . it's a "Netgear WG111v2" and it plugs into your PC via USB. Once i plugged it in I was able to find my Wireless Router and connect to it. However the signal strength was about 1/3 of what i usually get, and plus I'm not getting any internet connection coming through it :cry: .
I've spent countless hours on it, trying to figure out how to get it to work. But I still can't figure it out. I've been reading other Forums and posts from all sorts of websites with people that are having similar problems with there "Wireless Internet Card"(Whatever you call it), and they all seemed to need something called "ndiswrapper". I found a website online (While running Windows Vista. In case anyone was wondering how i got internet) and i got version 1.53. However, I can't figure out how it works or how you run it! :cry:
Could someone PLEASE help me out?
I am COMPLETELY new to Linux. I know absolutely nothing about it. Would someone please help me? This is getting me very upset :cry:

Note:
-I am Using Linux Mint 6.0 (Felicia)
-"NETGEAR WG11v2" Works fine with Windows Vista Basic on same PC

PC specs(if this helps any):
-3.0GHz AMD DualCore Processor
-2GB DDR2 RAM
-NVidia GeForce 7600 GS
-250GB Seagate Sata HDD
-MSI Mother Board (I don't know anything about the Mother Board, other then it's made by Micro Star International)
-Wireless Card Thingy: "NETGEAR WG111v2"
NateFlax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:07 am
Location: Maine, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby hotweiss on Fri Dec 26, 2008 7:51 am

Some people report wicd fixing the problem for them:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/225851

Then there is this solution:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=590942#6
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby NateFlax on Sat Dec 27, 2008 12:30 pm

Ok, I was reading around some more and I almost have it working. But still no internet.
I installed ndiswrapper and nisGTK (or something) and i got the correct Win98 Driver and .inf file, and even blacklisted the other wrong Drivers. It fixed my signal strength quite a bit, it went from 24% to now 70% (which is what it gets in Windows Vista). But however I still can't connect :cry:
The only thing i don't understand about the connection is something called "DHCP". I typed in the correct WEP Key(and tried Passphrase) i put in the correct SSID and everything else, Except the DHCP. Does anyone know what that is? I think that's the last problem i have until this whole thing is fixed. So please help! i'm still very new to Linux!
NateFlax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:07 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby hotweiss on Sat Dec 27, 2008 9:43 pm

NateFlax wrote:Ok, I was reading around some more and I almost have it working. But still no internet.
I installed ndiswrapper and nisGTK (or something) and i got the correct Win98 Driver and .inf file, and even blacklisted the other wrong Drivers. It fixed my signal strength quite a bit, it went from 24% to now 70% (which is what it gets in Windows Vista). But however I still can't connect :cry:
The only thing i don't understand about the connection is something called "DHCP". I typed in the correct WEP Key(and tried Passphrase) i put in the correct SSID and everything else, Except the DHCP. Does anyone know what that is? I think that's the last problem i have until this whole thing is fixed. So please help! i'm still very new to Linux!


DHCP should be left as automatic. I think your problem might be your WEP, try turning off any encryption. Use MAC address filtering for security if turning off WEP works. If that doesn't work, try WICD.
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby NateFlax on Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:01 pm

WOOHOOO!!!! WORKS!!!

I had to turn off all the security for it though... so no more WEP or WPA. however, i really can't do that since people like to hack into my signal. is there some sort of posible way i can get it to work with the WEP on? you say use MAC filtering? what's that do?
NateFlax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:07 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby hotweiss on Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:55 pm

NateFlax wrote:WOOHOOO!!!! WORKS!!!

I had to turn off all the security for it though... so no more WEP or WPA. however, i really can't do that since people like to hack into my signal. is there some sort of posible way i can get it to work with the WEP on? you say use MAC filtering? what's that do?


MAC filtering reads the ID's of your network cards and only allows those that you have approved to connect. MAC filtering is setup on your router.
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby NateFlax on Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:38 pm

Oh ok, thanks! I'll try that. seems like it's a pain to do, i'm not really good when it comes to networking. but i'll try to figure it out... Thanks again for everyone's help! :D
NateFlax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:07 am
Location: Maine, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Tutorials / Howtos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ryu945 and 8 guests