Fixing frostwire Now with Screenshots

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

Fixing frostwire Now with Screenshots

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:17 pm

2 Ways to install Frostwire.
1. Automatix2 and install Froswire
Linux Mint 2.2
http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index. ... .28Edgy.29
http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index. ... gy_i386.29
Linux Mint 3.0
http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index. ... 8Feisty.29
http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index. ... ty_i386.29
2. Or download the .deb
http://www.frostwire.com/download.php?os=ubuntu

Click any screenshot to get full size.
This is what Frostwire looks like before with Bery enabled.
Image

Fixing Menu Shortcut and making it able to run in Bery
Go to terminal type gksudo nautilus type in password and hit enter.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=465423965&size=o]Image
[/url]
Now navigate to /usr/bin and locate the frostwire file in this file browser.
Image

Next open your home folder from menu
Image
and copy and paste frostwire into your home folder
Image

Double click the frostwire file in your home folder
Image
and click display it should open it in gedit. It should look like.
Image

Now in gedit delete all the text and copy and paste the lines below into the Text Editor
--copy below this line--
#! /bin/bash
export AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit
export HOSTNAME=localhost
/usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh
--copy above this line--
Click save before you exit it should look like this.
Image

Next double click on frostwire file in the Home Folder and click run
Image
when frostwire opens close it out. It now should look like this.
Image
Drag and drop the new frostwire from the Home Folder to /usr/bin in the gksudo nautilus file browser. Click Replace.
Image

Now open the menu and go to Menu Layout in Preferences menu.
Image
Find the frostwire shortcut under Internet menu and right click to get properties.
Image
Change the Properties of Frostwire's command to /usr/bin/frostwire
Image
Now after editing closeout the properties and then close out Menu Layout
Right click on the Menu and click Reload Plugins
Frostwire should launch from the menu if not logout and back in and try again
Image
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Sun May 13, 2007 3:35 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:24 am

I think you should clarify a bit :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:14 am

Husse wrote:I think you should clarify a bit :)

Tell me where you are getting lost so I can fix it. Thank you for the reply.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby Husse on Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:25 am

I don't have frostwire :)
You talk about clicking on frostwire here and there - maybee you should clarify which file you mean - a config file or what.
I don't doubt you made a successful install, but I don't understand what you did. Read it and you will see that things like this is'nt exactly clear.
Now navigate to /usr/bin and locate the frostwire file in this file browser.
Next open your home folder from menu and copy frostwire into your home folder

We always encourage people to find good solutions and tell the community about them and with a bit clarification this may well be a god guide.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:09 pm

Husse wrote:I don't have frostwire :)
You talk about clicking on frostwire here and there - maybee you should clarify which file you mean - a config file or what.
I don't doubt you made a successful install, but I don't understand what you did. Read it and you will see that things like this is'nt exactly clear.
Now navigate to /usr/bin and locate the frostwire file in this file browser.
Next open your home folder from menu and copy frostwire into your home folder

We always encourage people to find good solutions and tell the community about them and with a bit clarification this may well be a god guide.

Not able to get to Linux Mint at the moment but all I can remember is that it's just says frostwire in /usr/bin Must click on filesystem 1st to get to it.
Once its opened it has 1 line that says:
bash /usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh

If it's not there maybe you can just add it. All it does is tell how to start Froswire.

I made it easier for everyone to understand.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests