Faster web browsing!

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

Faster web browsing!

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:55 pm

I just installed Swiftweasel 2.0.0.5 ! Web pages are loading a little faster but best of all I can update it from within the program!

I just extracted Swiftweasel to my /home directory and changed the path in my shortcut to it's executable file!

Download here http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=195473
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby 900i on Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:16 pm

So, is this Debian's version of SwiftFox!

Edit: Yes it is.
Last edited by 900i on Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:29 pm

Probably, it doesn't matter to me what it is called. It just works very well!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby poision on Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:35 pm

Hey its really nice finding works really good i liked it too.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:43 pm

poison, did you install the .deb or extract Swiftweasel to your /home directory?
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby poision on Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:21 pm

Hey i just used .deb.Why is that make any difference or what not getting ya now?
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:08 pm

I was wondering if you still had the update feature through the browser after the .deb install?
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby exploder on Sun Jul 08, 2007 1:06 pm

I installed the .deb, works perfectly. I had it extracted to my /home originally and ran from there. No problems installing from the .deb and everything works the same including the update feature!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby zeip on Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:57 pm

What's this? It's faster!!! In our town we can only get a "half DSL1000"- so this is great for me. Installed the .deb and run...thanks for it!

Gtreetings!
zeip
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 2:54 am
Location: germany

Postby poision on Sun Jul 08, 2007 5:47 pm

Hi exploder now i got what you are saying.Before i was suprised what ya asked abt update feature.Well its working fine now.Thanks for nice tool.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby poision on Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:54 pm

Hi exploder yes update is working too.Can you pls tell me how that application works for firefox?Can we add such support to opera too.I use both opera and firefox.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby ChadMC on Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:47 pm

My fonts look worse with swiftweasel than the default firefox. Anyone else notice this? Anyway to fix it?

Also, does anyone know of an opteron build of swiftweasel? Or should I just use the k8 build?
ChadMC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:04 am

Postby poision on Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:40 pm

Hi ChadMC do ya ve amd processor?I think you didnt selected correct file which is as per processor.I ve amd turion x2 i selected amd64 file its working good for me.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby nelamvr6 on Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:34 pm

ChadMC wrote:My fonts look worse with swiftweasel than the default firefox. Anyone else notice this? Anyway to fix it?

Also, does anyone know of an opteron build of swiftweasel? Or should I just use the k8 build?


I noticed it!

In fact I had to stop using it and go back to regular vanilla Firefox.
nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Postby poision on Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:59 am

[hi i think u should try amd64 rather than k8. cos its working very well on my turion x2
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby nelamvr6 on Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:18 am

poision wrote:[hi i think u should try amd64 rather than k8. cos its working very well on my turion x2


well I was using the proper build for my CPU but it still looked pretty bad.

The fonts looked badly rendered, it's as if you had the pen width set to low in autocad.
nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Postby ChadMC on Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:32 pm

poision wrote:Hi ChadMC do ya ve amd processor?I think you didnt selected correct file which is as per processor.I ve amd turion x2 i selected amd64 file its working good for me.


I have an AMD Opteron 170. I'm running the 32bit version of Mint, so I can't choose the amd64 file. I really want to use swiftweasel, because it is faster, but the fonts look much worse.
ChadMC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:04 am

Postby poision on Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:06 pm

Hi you didnt get me buddy.Amd64 is architecture name of processor. You ll find amd64 for i386 there.I installed that only.I ve turion X2 duel core 64bit processor running 32bit mint.And one more thing dont use beta version.Check site again you get it.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby ChadMC on Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:12 pm

poision wrote:Hi you didnt get me buddy.Amd64 is architecture name of processor. You ll find amd64 for i386 there.I installed that only.I ve turion X2 duel core 64bit processor running 32bit mint.And one more thing dont use beta version.Check site again you get it.


ah ok. I got it now. My fonts still look different than the normal firefox. Maybe they will fix it in later versions. I'm not sure why it's rendering the fonts differently.
ChadMC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:04 am

Postby nelamvr6 on Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:23 pm

I tried Swiftfox on the outside chance that it does better than Swiftweasel, but the results were about the same.

Both are noticeably faster than Firefox at rendering web pages, but the pages they render ore not very good looking.
nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests