Install Compiz Fusion with mintInstall & working Emerald

Write tutorials and howtos in here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

Install Compiz Fusion with mintInstall & working Emerald

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:34 am

Linux Mint 3.0 Gnome and XFCE Community Edition Only.
If you don't have the default packages installed, I don't know if it will work for you.
Make sure that you have it set up for Beryl or Compiz for you system.(drivers, xorg, etc)

This is the easiest way to install Compiz Fusion.
Use this link to install with mintInstall.
http://rapidshare.com/files/43590872/compiz-fusion.mint
If you can't use rapidshare use this link:
http://www.box.net/shared/qetv8uvj6z

Installing will take a while so be patient.
Watch the Progress section for any errors that might show up.
Errors may happen if you have changed any of the default compiz packages and can't upgrade these.

Now to start Compiz Fusion:

Open Berly Manager and change any settings you normally have to change to run Compiz
In XFCE make sure the Fall-back Window Manager is xfwm4 and change it to this if you disable Compiz Fusion.
Now select Compiz as your Window Manager.

To change any Compiz Fusion Settings use CompizConfig Settings Manager.
If it doesn't change use Beryl Manager to Reload Window Manager.

How to use both the Rotating Cube plugin and the Desktop Wall plugin.( is a little buggy with both running but runs fine for me)
Open and enable Rotate Cube.
Let it enable Cube plugin and disable Dektop Wall plugin.
Now close out CompizConfig Settings Manager and open your home directory.
Make sure to have Show Hidden Files enabled and goto .the .compizconfig folder.
Open Default.ini with your text editor and change this line.
Code: Select all
[wall]
as_____plugin_enabled = false
to
Code: Select all
[wall]
as_____plugin_enabled = true
and save the file.
Now use Beryl Manager to reload the Window Manager.
Both should be working.

UPDATE:
To get Emerald working you need to upgrade to the latest one.
If you upgrade Emerald will not work with the default Beryl so upgrade it 1st.
Beryl:
http://rapidshare.com/files/50672500/beryl.mint
http://www.box.net/shared/dyga3aizzs

Emerald:
http://rapidshare.com/files/50672582/emerald.mint
http://www.box.net/shared/maxftejfqh

After Emerald is upgraded open Beryl Manger.
Change the Window Decorator to Standard Beryl and then Reload the Window Decorator.
You will have to Reload the Window Decorator every time you start Compiz Fusion with Beryl Manager.

- Hold CTRL + ALT keys and with the left mouse button rotate the cube
- Super + E activates the Expo plugin
- Hold Super + Shift and with your mouse paint fire on your desktop
- Super + Shift + C will erase the fire paint
- Super + Tab activates the Ring Switcher plugin
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:24 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:39 am

I am giving the install a try. I will post back my results!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5871
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby exploder on Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:19 am

The install went well, however reflections are not working and cubecaps. Earlier builds of compiz Fusion had everything working. My new computer is down, it has everything working because it has an earlier build. When I get the power supply replaced I will get the build number off of it.

Maybe I am doing something wrong? I enabled reflections but things seem to be missing. Your install method is perfect! Compize Fusion was easily installed with all the needed files! It was quick and painless!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5871
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:33 pm

Well thats weird it's using a folder that doesn't exist.
Open CompizConfig Settings Manager and change the default image to this instead.
Code: Select all
/usr/share/beryl/reflection_default.png
or
Code: Select all
/usr/share/beryl/emboss.png
You might have to reload the Window Manager.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby theonlyrealperson on Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:37 am

Huh, I can't get any of it to work. Beryl works fine, and compiz runs just as it always has - nothing new. I still can't use the cube function in Compiz. It's like the installation didn't occur and I'm still using the old Compiz.

Changes in Compiz-Config have no affect at all.

Any suggestions?
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:07 am

theonlyrealperson wrote:Huh, I can't get any of it to work. Beryl works fine, and compiz runs just as it always has - nothing new. I still can't use the cube function in Compiz. It's like the installation didn't occur and I'm still using the old Compiz.

Changes in Compiz-Config have no affect at all.

Any suggestions?

Sorry they left out requirements for compiz. :?
So I had to manually add them it the list for the mint file.
Download the new updated file and install over the top of the old and you will get it up and running. :)
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby theonlyrealperson on Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:20 am

merlwiz79 wrote:
theonlyrealperson wrote:Huh, I can't get any of it to work. Beryl works fine, and compiz runs just as it always has - nothing new. I still can't use the cube function in Compiz. It's like the installation didn't occur and I'm still using the old Compiz.

Changes in Compiz-Config have no affect at all.

Any suggestions?

Sorry they left out requirements for compiz. :?
So I had to manually add them it the list for the mint file.
Download the new updated file and install over the top of the old and you will get it up and running. :)


Hey, that works great! Thanks!
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Postby poision on Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:33 pm

Hey merlwiz thats gr8 your method absolutely fine.Its working well now.Can you tell me one thing what are advantage of compiz fusion over beryl?
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Here's the trouble

Postby Stefan2508 on Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:43 pm

Compiz is working fine..
but emerald doesnt anymore...
the window borderst are simply not there....

What's wrong ???
Stefan2508
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:29 pm

Re: Here's the trouble

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Jul 22, 2007 2:14 pm

Stefan2508 wrote:Compiz is working fine..
but emerald doesnt anymore...
the window borderst are simply not there....

What's wrong ???

Change the Window Decorator to GTK not Beryl.
If that doesn't fix it then it's a xorg configuration problem.
There is a command to use emerald with Compiz Fusion, but I never found any themes that work with it.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby Stefan2508 on Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:42 am

Of course it works with Metacity,
but that's not very nice :-(
It used to work with emerald too
Stefan2508
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:29 pm

Re: Here's the trouble

Postby poision on Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:08 am

Hi merlwiz
i followed your this thread n installed compiz fusion successfully.Its working very well.But cube or cube rotating not working.You said to edit in default.ini but in compizconfig folder there is only config.ini.Other this how to set animated wallpaper and from where i can download it?How to make compizfusion as default wm in mint?Sorry for so many questions hope you ll not mind.Waiting for reply
poision
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Re: Here's the trouble

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:08 am

poision wrote:Hi merlwiz
i followed your this thread n installed compiz fusion successfully.Its working very well.But cube or cube rotating not working.You said to edit in default.ini but in compizconfig folder there is only config.ini.Other this how to set animated wallpaper and from where i can download it?How to make compizfusion as default wm in mint?Sorry for so many questions hope you ll not mind.Waiting for reply
poision

You need to enable the Rotate Cube and then Click Enable Cube to get it to work.(CompizConfig Settings Manager)
Editing the Default.ini was to make Desktop Wall work with Cube and Rotate Cube.
My Default.ini
Code: Select all
[animation]
s0_close2_duration = 0.160000
s0_create2_duration = 0.160000

[water]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[firepaint]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[wobbly]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[wall]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[rotate]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[cube]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[imgjpeg]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[thumbnail]
as_____plugin_enabled = true

[reflex]
as_____plugin_enabled = true
s0_file = /usr/share/beryl/emboss.png

[opacify]
as_____plugin_enabled = true
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Here's the trouble

Postby poision on Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:45 am

hi merlwiz
u didnt get me buddy in compizcongif folder tere is no default.ini file there is onlu config.ini .Shall i edit that with ur code..???
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:26 am

THere Is No need to edit any files.
Open CompizConfig Settings Manager and check the box next to Rotate Cube.
If this doesn't work try to reinstall with the .mint file and see if there are any errors.( minus the Errno 9)
config.ini is as different file and shouldn't be edited.
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby gadi on Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:35 pm

Wew! Works well!!

I am using Mint XFCE Edition, and it is perfect. I proved installing it directly from Treviño's repo, whithout results. Thanks for this .mint, is works prefect.

There is a Screenshot:

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/ ... fusion.jpg

Thanks and... Adeus!
User avatar
gadi
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:12 pm
Location: Cádiz, Spain

Re: Install Compiz Fusion with mintInstall updated file

Postby poision on Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:43 pm

Hi compiz fusion is gr8 thanks merlwiz.Well how to make this compizfusion as default wm?What if i set beryl manager at start up,but not sure compiz ll load automatically at startup.Pls guide.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Re: Install Compiz Fusion with mintInstall updated file

Postby maty1206 on Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:15 am

poision wrote:Hi compiz fusion is gr8 thanks merlwiz.Well how to make this compizfusion as default wm?What if i set beryl manager at start up,but not sure compiz ll load automatically at startup.Pls guide.

Hello!!!
Try this:

Go to “System> Preferences > Sesion > begin software (programas de inicio)", press "New" , write on the name site “Compiz Fusionâ€￾ (for instance) and finally add this command:

compiz --replace -c emerald

Don't forget to refresh your desktop : Ctrl +Alt +Suor
Note: If you see a Beryl entry on System> Preferences > Sesion > begin software (programas de inicio) you should erase it.

That's all!!!
maty1206
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Postby loneowais on Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:02 am

Rapidshare has lots of problems/.....especially for GPRS users as all GPRS subscribers of a company hav the same IP...so downlaodin from rapidshre is a nightmare...

Could any1 please mail me the file send me the file....or upload to megashare
loneowais
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:18 am

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:42 pm

loneowais wrote:Rapidshare has lots of problems/.....especially for GPRS users as all GPRS subscribers of a company hav the same IP...so downlaodin from rapidshre is a nightmare...

Could any1 please mail me the file send me the file....or upload to megashare

Megashare doesn't allow .mint files but I post another link, hope that one works for you. :)
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Tutorials / Howtos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests