HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Linux

Write tutorials and howtos in here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Do not start a support topic here please. Before you post please read this

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby Doruletz on Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:57 pm

Sleven wrote:Doruletz, just a small follow up on my experience with your tutorial

I was so pleased at how well everything worked yesterday getting my old, very cheap Gearhead cam to work in Mint, that today I went and bought a new HD webcam (Logitech c270H) to replace the cam I've been using. I unplugged the old cam, plugged up in the new one and booted up. Tried to start v4l2ucp and got the following error message.

Unable to open: /dev/video0 no such file or directory

I thought, "oh crap, what do I do now". I looked for a solution for a while but couldn't find an answer. I wanted to see how the new cam worked so I booted up Windows and installed all the software. Played with it for a while and decided that the improved video quality was worth the effort to find a program that would work in Mint.

Rebooted Mint and opened Firefox which reloaded all the pages that I had open. By chance the last page I was on was the google setting page used to verify my video feed, and "ba da bing" I had a live feed. v4l2ucp now opens with no error message and I suppose the command line, "LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so firefox", I used last night now works with the new webcam. Thanks again for a great tutorial.



Sleven,

I'm glad I could help and also happy for your success.
I only wish that everybody else will take the time to share their knowledge and experience with others. It will greatly benefit the Linux Mint comunity and maybe attract more people to Linux Mint.
Doruletz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:00 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby Doruletz on Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:05 pm

MIGUEL2918 wrote:hi there I couldny make my camera work under skype. i try all methods described but not..

my details are:
camera microsoft corp lifecam vx-6000 (sn9c20x-0v9650)
linux mint 10
:x


Miguel, I don't want to be mean, but maybe just the name of your web cam is the problem...
Micro$oft........ :D

To be more to the point, can you open a Terminal and do an
Code: Select all
lsusb

and post the result here.

Here is how mine looks:
$ lsusb
Bus 010 Device 003: ID 03f0:4d11 Hewlett-Packard PSC 1400
Bus 010 Device 002: ID 04e8:327e Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd
Bus 010 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 009 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 008 Device 003: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc.
Bus 008 Device 002: ID 046d:c31c Logitech, Inc.
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 1c4f:3000 SiGma Micro Micro USB Web Camera
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 090c:1000 Feiya Technology Corp. Flash Drive
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 15a9:0004 Gemtek WUBR177G
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bda:0111 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. Card Reader
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

As you can see, my web cam is listed, thus being recognised and installed in my system. Maybe yours is not...
Doruletz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:00 am

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby barsonnn on Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:20 am

Hey guys!

Im trying to find out how can i detect/use my builtin webcam, but unfortunately nothing so far has worked.
I have an LG e500 laptop with a 1.3 mega smart cam...
when i run lsusb i get the following:

Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 002: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

Please help :)
barsonnn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:17 am

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby ddalley on Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:32 pm

> (6) In the 'application to use line' replace mplayer with Skype.

Being fairly literal, I typed in "Skype", with a captial S.
Some part of Linux doesn't accept this, so use lowercase skype.

Having said that, when I click on "Start Preview" in Video4Linux Control Panel , V4L now runs Skype, but when testing for video in Skype, it fails - no error, just no obvious reaction, at all, from Skype.

I tried all three lib codes posted above, but there was no change.

The Logitech QuickCam Express may not be new, but I have had it working with Linux before.

Does anyone have any ideas?
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby Doruletz on Wed May 04, 2011 3:16 am

ddalley wrote:> (6) In the 'application to use line' replace mplayer with Skype.

Being fairly literal, I typed in "Skype", with a captial S.
Some part of Linux doesn't accept this, so use lowercase skype.

Having said that, when I click on "Start Preview" in Video4Linux Control Panel , V4L now runs Skype, but when testing for video in Skype, it fails - no error, just no obvious reaction, at all, from Skype.

I tried all three lib codes posted above, but there was no change.

The Logitech QuickCam Express may not be new, but I have had it working with Linux before.

Does anyone have any ideas?


Almost all Logitech webcams work with skype out of the box, so no need for any of the above.
Just make sure that in Skype the Logitech webcam is selected as video source.
It should work if it's Logitech without the need of V4L...
Doruletz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:00 am

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby martindeporres on Thu May 31, 2012 5:04 am

My webcam doesn't work on Skype. I followed the described steps, but didn't work.

Details:

Bus 003 Device 002: ID 05a9:a511 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV511+ Webcam

From the outside it says "Genius".
When the world isn't the same as our minds believe, then we are in a nightmare. And nothing is worse than a nightmare... except for one you can't wake up from.

Alamo Joe Rogan
User avatar
martindeporres
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 3:09 am

Re: HOW TO - make virtually any webcam work with Skype in Li

Postby martindeporres on Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:22 am

martindeporres wrote:My webcam doesn't work on Skype. I followed the described steps, but didn't work.

Details:

Bus 003 Device 002: ID 05a9:a511 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV511+ Webcam

From the outside it says "Genius".


I tried this:

http://alpha.dyndns.org/ov511/
It's a mess, I gave up. I'm buying a new webcam, this one was really old anyway.
When the world isn't the same as our minds believe, then we are in a nightmare. And nothing is worse than a nightmare... except for one you can't wake up from.

Alamo Joe Rogan
User avatar
martindeporres
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 3:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Tutorials / Howtos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DataMan and 13 guests