Live CD solved

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Live CD solved

Postby ZeroWeb on Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:47 am

I would like to start using Linux Mint but have run into a problem with the Live CD. The video card that I have is an NVIDIA 7600 GS and so when I boot into the Live CD, the monitor will shut off because it is out of frequency. I read a few posts that said to try "Safe graphics" mode and it still did not help.

Any suggestions that you guys have would be greatly appreciated.
ZeroWeb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Live CD

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:59 am

shut off because it is out of frequency

Are you sure?
Do you know the vertical and horizontal refresh values for your monitor?
You may be able to fix this
When the live CD starts up press F6 and delete the "quiet splash --" ending and type in "break=bottom", then boot with this. If you end up in a "busy box" or so, reboot and type in "break=top" instead.
One member of the forum reported that "break=button" helped - this is really absurd, but worth mentioning.
You should end up in a regular CLI (terminal)
When you get to the prompt type in the following:
chroot /root nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Note: there has to be a space between chroot and /root and also spaces between /root and nano as well as between nano and /etc. Please note that the X in X11 must be a major X
This will let you edit your graphics configuration file.
Find "Section Monitor" - it looks like this
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
Horizsync 30-70
Vertrefresh 50-160
EndSection
Make sure that the horizontal and vertical refresh rates are within the range of your monitor
Once you've done this press Ctrl+x then y then enter to exit the text editor
This will bring you back to the command line, simply type:
exit
and nothing else
and you will continue booting
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Live CD

Postby ZeroWeb on Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:27 am

Thanks for the help. I did have to reconfigure the X server to get it working. Now I have an issue with the partition stage in the installer. This is what it shows for the partitions:
/dev/hdb
/dev/hdb1 ntfs /media/hdb1 40007 MB unknown
free space 8 MB

I right click on /dev/hdb1 and select "Edit partition" and it will attempt to mount the partition but does not let me change anything. Should I try to set up a dual boot system another way?

I hope with the help of everyone I can finally start using Linux.
ZeroWeb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:37 am

Re: Live CD

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:59 am

You change the size of that single ntfs partition to make room for Mint
But first defrag it data blocks can be spread out widely
Then make swap file of twice the size of your memory, but the combined sizes of memory and swap should not exceed 3 GB
Make a root ( / ) partition of about 5 GB and use the rest of the disk space you freed for a /home partition. Format the partitions as ext3 (at least I recommend that). If you reinstall in the future don't format the home partition :) and all your settings are inherited to the new install not to talk of the data you saved
Mount points are selected in a pull down menu
Suddenly I realize this was not what you asked me about :shock:
Use manual partitioning - this is the way to proceed in this case
Start by resizing the existing partition, then proceed as above
Don't hesitate to ask again if needed
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Live CD

Postby ZeroWeb on Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:45 pm

I now have Linux Mint installed. The issue I ran into with the ntfs partition was that the file system first has to be unmounted before you can edit the partition. I then made a swap partition of 512 MB, a /home partition of 2 GB, and the rest I left for the root partition and everything is working.
ZeroWeb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:37 am

Re: Live CD

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:25 pm

So this was not Daryna?
Rather Cassandra (Possibly Celena)
Anyway there was a bug somehow (don't remember the details now) that caused this in some circumstances
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests