there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby jetblack on Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:56 pm

Just installed to hard drive mint4. But it would not boot. It gave error code 15. I have tried to run from another distro that has grub. By adding mint4 to its grub.conf. Same error code. Looking at the documentation I find that grub can be run in terminal. So I chrooted into the mint / folder. I can run grub in cli but cannot set it up as there is no /boot/grub/stage1 as there is no /boot/grub folder. Is this a bug? :?:
jetblack
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:15 pm

If your install has
no /boot/grub folder.

the install is seriously flawed and you have to reinstall
Before you do that check the md5sum of the iso
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby 67GTA on Sun Mar 09, 2008 8:22 pm

Yeah, that's really bad. Are you sure your HD is good? Installing good info onto bad blocks always goes wrong.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby jetblack on Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:45 am

I'll have a go at reinstalling.

Thanks for the advice :)
jetblack
 

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby jetblack on Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:38 am

I reburned the cd. I reinstalled. The same thing happened. There is no way that this disto is usable of a harddrive. Even when putting the correct lines into grub from another distro the thing wont boot. And k3b checked the md5 sum as a matter of course. :x
jetblack
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:46 am

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby Husse on Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:52 am

There is no way that this disto is usable of a harddrive.

You know what - that's a really stupid comment :evil:
There are many thousands installed Mint.
I'd say and know that it's true that there is no way this happens unless you do something wrong. Do you select a boot partition and then not look in it?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby jetblack on Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:00 am

There is no way that this disto is usable of a harddrive.


Its not that stupid. I tried to install a previous version of mint and ran into problems. Also, as I wrote I have made two attempts to install mint4.

Most other distros install ok - including /grub/boot.

As smooth as this distro is as a live distro, it will remain just that for myself. An uninstallable live distro. :x
jetblack
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:46 am

Re: there is no /boot/grub/stage1

Postby cogDis on Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:29 pm

jetblack wrote:Just installed to hard drive mint4. But it would not boot. It gave error code 15. I have tried to run from another distro that has grub. By adding mint4 to its grub.conf. Same error code. Looking at the documentation I find that grub can be run in terminal. So I chrooted into the mint / folder. I can run grub in cli but cannot set it up as there is no /boot/grub/stage1 as there is no /boot/grub folder. Is this a bug? :?:


Possibly a bug yes, but if it is the one I am thinking of, it would depend on your hardware configuration and where you are attempting to install grub. If you have a dual sata system and are attempting to install grub to any location other than the MBR of the primary drive (using the Advanced Button on the grub installer dialog) then try using /dev/sdxx as the syntax rather than the normal grub protocol of (hdx,x) Substitute xx with the appropriate drive and partition number for your situation.

There is possibly some more info on this subject in the following thread:

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=9665&p=61150#p61150

Good luck, CD
cogDis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:17 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dhopley, NickC and 18 guests