Daryna KDE wont boot to a graphical boot!!

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Daryna KDE wont boot to a graphical boot!!

Postby Walking Dude on Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:04 pm

I just installed Daryna KDE to a computer with many HDDs and followed the instruction on the release page. > if you use a separate partition for /boot you will not get a graphical boot. To fix this, copy /etc/grub/message.mint to /boot/grub/, edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and change gfxboot=/grub/message.mint <

I did copy /etc/grub/message.mint to /boot/grub/ and used nano to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to what it recommends the release notes but it didn't work.
It actually made the boot menu look worse.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Before Installing the KDE version I had GNOME and it was very good, but wanted t give KDE a try. I'm fairly new to Linux and I have no experience at all with the console.

Thanks a lot.
Last edited by Walking Dude on Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Walking Dude
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Daryna KDE wont boot to a graphical boot!!

Postby Fred on Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:10 am

Walking Dude,

Greetings Sir,

First off, multiple posts on the same topic is not going to win you a lot of friends around here. Certainly not with me anyway. Just a tip. :-)

Now that is out of the way, lets look at your problem. Following the release notes should have fixed the menu issue so there must be something else going on. Open "Kate" and navigate to /boot/grub/ and confirm that the file "message.mint" is there. You don't need to open it. Then open /boot/grub/menu.list. Copy and post the contents of that file here please. Maybe something will jump out at us.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.