When use tmpfs?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

When use tmpfs?

Postby ccc on Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:36 pm

hi

Can anyone pls explain, when use tmpfs?
BTW I should install mint with XFCE on a 2GB CompactFlash (CF) with 1GB RAM and should I use it?
Last edited by ccc on Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ccc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby oobetimer on Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:08 pm

Every time. Open terminal and give a command mount .. :wink:

tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby ccc on Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:41 pm

Should I use it tmpfs for /tmp, /var/(log,lock...) as well and add in /etc/fstab to be fix?
ccc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:40 pm

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby oobetimer on Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:03 pm

ccc wrote:Should I use it tmpfs for /tmp, /var/(log,lock...) as well and add in /etc/fstab to be fix?


No.
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby ccc on Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:24 pm

oobetimer wrote:Every time. Open terminal and give a command mount .. :wink:

tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)


Thx, but what happens after system restart and why not to put in /etc/fstab?
ccc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:40 pm

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby ccc on Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:06 pm

ccc wrote:
Thx, but what happens after system restart and why not to put in /etc/fstab?


Can you pls answer my question?
ccc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:40 pm

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby mint123 on Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:29 pm

If you have enough memory, no reason why you should not mount /tmp in ram. To survive boots, it needs to be in fstab. For /var/lock, run, logs, there are cases where you may or may not want to do that. I say kep /var/logs out of ram so you have them when needing them. If you find your computer can't handle it, unmount the /tmp and remove from fstab.

Code: Select all
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,size=512M 0 0
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: When use tmpfs?

Postby eanfrid on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:34 am

Have a look to /etc/default/rcS and to /etc/default/tmpfs: these 2 files manage how (tmpfs) and what (rcS) is supposed to be run in tmpfs. No fstab entry needed unless if you want to add mount options (like noexec for /tmp) to the default ones.

Edit: these files seem not to be overly used in Ubuntu/LM (/etc/default/tmpfs is not present) but you can tune your default options here, like:
Code: Select all
# implicit default
RAMRUN=yes

# mount /run/lock as a tmpfs (separately from /run)
RAMLOCK=yes

# mount /run/shm as a tmpfs (separately from /run)
RAMSHM=yes

# mount /tmp as a tmpfs
RAMTMP=yes

these setting were previously present in /etc/default/rcS but are now migrated to /etc/default/tmpfs. See "man tmpfs".
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1871
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: administrollaattori, Renrag39 and 20 guests