ok, I'm a noob again

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

ok, I'm a noob again

Postby McLovin on Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:18 am

I install Ubuntu over mint, (don't ask, I f'ed up) but then decided to use another HDD that I have for Mint and use the partition I was using for testing dif distros, I installed Mint as usual, but when I reboot, all I get is the Ubuntu grub, with no Mint listed. I thought that Mint would overwrite the Ubuntu grub with its own, but no, now I can't seem to figure out how to get the Mint grub installed over the Ubuntu one, and help? I would love you for life, not in that Brokeback Mountain kind of, but in the way a man can love another man.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ok, I'm a noob again

Postby Acid_1 on Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:26 am

just add it to your ubuntu grub. where is mint installed to? hda2 i'm assuming, but where?
User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: ok, I'm a noob again

Postby McLovin on Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:45 am

no, my setup is really funky, here is the output from fdisk -l
Code: Select all
 Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        4979    39993786    5  Extended
/dev/sda5               1        1867    14996614+  83  Linux
/dev/sda6            1868        4979    24997108+  83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x35570912

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1        1274    10233373+  12  Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sdb2   *        1275       31055   239210496    6  FAT16
/dev/sdb3           31055       57082   209059114    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdb4           57083       60801    29872867+   5  Extended
/dev/sdb5           57083       57455     2996091   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdb6           57456       59035    12691318+  83  Linux
/dev/sdb7           59036       60801    14185363+  83  Linux
I can get into Mint by using f12 to get to a boot options screen and then choosing the "new" drive I just installed, but I would like to not have to do that every time, Although it may a blessing in disguise as I plan on testing multiple different distros, and having the option to boot from either disk and having a grub in both, would save me alot of trouble of having to edit my grub list at every new install of a distro. eh, no big deal, kinda works out I think.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: ok, I'm a noob again

Postby McLovin on Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:40 am

and i forgot to mention, I figure out what I did wrong.
When I reinstalled Mint, I put the Grub on the wrong HDD, but it works out, so all is well.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: ok, I'm a noob again

Postby Fred on Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:01 am

McLovin,

Greetings Sir,

You need to get into your mint install and use the grub root and setup commands to get your boot back. I need to know what drive and partition your Ubuntu is on and also what drive and partition your Mint is on to give you the commands you need.

You are probably booting off of sda and when you installed Mint to sdb the installer installed grub to sdb. That is easily fixed though. Just post what I asked for above. :-)

If you are setting up a system to run several distros you might want to look at what I did with my system recently. Maybe the below thread will give you some ideas.

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=10043&start=30

Fred
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: ok, I'm a noob again

Postby McLovin on Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:09 am

mint is installed on sda, but sdb is the main drive, ie the first boot device. sda is an add on ide hdd, while sdb is the factory sata hdd, so all i really have to do if i want to is switch the main boot drive in the bios, but i think i kinda like it this way, saves me some hastle
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Derek_S, W3C [Validator] and 22 guests