Is swap really necessary?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Is swap really necessary?

Postby 67GTA on Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:58 pm

I have always created a swap partition when I installed linux because it was just customary. I don't use hiberante/sleep, and I always set "vmswapiness" to zero so it is never used. My HP desktop has 4GB of memory. I know that if the OS knows a swap partition is present at installation, it will look for it at boot. Will a linux distro run without a swap partition if it is installed without one already present?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is swap really necessary?

Postby MagnusB on Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:10 pm

Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests