Mint DVD?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Mint DVD?

Postby E3PL on Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:39 am

I burned the main edition of Linux Mint 4.0 as a bootable DVD, it starts and shows a background but I get an error that it cannot read the boot disk and the only given option is to restart, only to see the same error. I burned the dvd at 4x speed (the lowest option PowerIso gives me) so I highly doubt it was a burning error, is linux mint unable to be installed from a dvd, and must have a CD? I'm not an expert on cd's and dvd's so I am asking yall, before I download a bunch of copies figuring it was a download error and waste a few more DVD's

Any help yall could provide as soon as possible would be terrific.
E3PL
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Mint DVD?

Postby jokersloose on Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:42 am

Not sure I'll be able to help, but I know Mint will burn and load from a DVD cause that's how I did it. You "might" try booting in safe graphics mode and see if it lets you load that way. Like I said not sure it will help. Also might post the specs from your system it will help those who have a clue (and thats not me btw) trouble shot what's going on.

Thanks,
James
jokersloose
Level 4
Level 4

Postby E3PL on Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:53 am

I can't choose to boot from safe graphics mode because there is a dos-like box that comes up over the options saying Mint cannot read the boot disk, yet it can display the Mint background and options. Either Mint cant install from DVD or Firefox fudged up the download. I dont want to waste my time re-downloading it, and re-burning it, if the problem is the former of the two.

Specs:
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+(2.8GHz) (Dual Core - 64 bit compatible)
RAM: 3GB DDR2 667
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE
Audio: High Definition 8-channel audio (Realtek)
E3PL
Level 1
Level 1

Postby jokersloose on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:49 am