Daryana----Strange

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wesireal

Daryana----Strange

Post by wesireal »

I got the latest release 4 and decided to try it out as Live cd.

It started to boot and came apoint where it said ;

Remove disk from the tray, close tray and press Enter to continue.

I did exactly that.

First the monitor switched off and then the pc! What gives???

I am a complete newbie as well as old retired not bright and very slow person. Please help me by using simple english language, if possible. Thanks in advance.

I have;

Dell Dimension E521--Dual core amd processor, nvidia 7300LE, 3GB ram,Dell tft 19" monitor. :|
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Husse

Re: Daryana----Strange

Post by Husse »

Don't "downgrade" yourself just because you're old - so am I (well, sort of anyway)
This is a first one if I understand you right
Remove disk from the tray, close tray and press Enter to continue.
This is exactly the message you get after a successful install...
I guess a bad CD
Did you check the md5sum and burned slowly?
In windows you have to use third party software for the md5 check
http://www.blisstonia.com/shareware/WinMD5/
Fred

Post by Fred »

wesireal,

Don't despair, there are several of us seniors here, as Husse said. You are in good company. :-)

If you want to discuss slow.... I ran a 100 yd. dash with my granddaughter last week... If all goes well, I will cross the finish line by next Saturday afternoon. lol

Fred
wesireal

Post by wesireal »

Thank you all.

I tried again, this time I got a blue blank screen (I tried in Safe Graphics mode) I waited quite a while and then for some reason I can not explain, I pressed Esc! and viola I was on the desktop!!!!