Bea to Bianca Stable upgrade doesn't work

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Bea to Bianca Stable upgrade doesn't work

Postby whistlerspa on Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:28 am

Tried following the wiki apt-get wouldn't accept the added lines as instructed in the wiki called them 'malformed' All I managed to do was lose my Office base and so on links - wotta waste of time!!!![/b] :evil:
whistlerspa
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby AlsaPhil on Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:47 am

You seem to be alone in this case :cry: I guess several minties were doing this upgrade since yesterday, don't you think so?

Don't you think possible too that you just made a mistake?
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby kiwiboyus on Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:03 pm

I followed the instructions and it all worked fine on my laptop upgrading from Bea to Bianca. Maybe you sould just try again.
User avatar
kiwiboyus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:06 pm

Postby mumbo719 on Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:24 pm

Worked like a charm for me.

Give it another try.
User avatar
mumbo719
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Tampa Bay, Florida

Same problem...

Postby karlox on Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:19 pm

i run the program terminal in root and enter the text that say the wiki as it follows:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install mintmenu mintconfig mintdisk mintdesktop mintwifi

and looks that the pc understands and install everything , i restart the system and then all is the same , nothing changes.
What am i doing wrong please.!!!!!!
Carlos
P.s. before that, i downloaded the iso cd and run it. i double click the install shortcut in the desktop and begin to install it , when the live cd ask me to partition the hard disk and formated everything i was very close to ruin my pc. ist funny. but like the first os was installed it was logic to upgrade in the same way. rtfm:i know...
User avatar
karlox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: San Salvador , El Salvador

i forget... to tell

Postby karlox on Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:38 pm

the answer from the root terminal was...
Fallo temporal al resolver 'archive.canonical.com'
Ign http://archive.canonical.com edgy-commercial/main Translation-es
Descargados 6B en 20s (0B/s)
Imposible obtener http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/dis ... elease.gpg Fallo temporal al resolver 'archive.canonical.com'
Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
W: Algunos archivos de índice no se han podido descargar, se han ignorado,
o se ha utilizado unos antiguos en su lugar.
root@carlos-desktop:/home/carlos# sudo apt-get upgrade
Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
Creando árbol de dependencias
Leyendo información de estado... Hecho
0 actualizados, 0 se instalarán, 0 para eliminar y 0 no actualizados.
What do you think doctor...
Carlos
User avatar
karlox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: San Salvador , El Salvador

Postby lcohen999 on Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:26 am

I am having the same issue.

I followed the wiki step by step.

I ended up breaking OpenOffice, although it seems to be re-installed there are no icons for it.

When I do a sudo apt-get upgrade it tells me there is nothing to upgrade.
lcohen999
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:04 am

I did follow the instruction, except the optianal

Postby electronic spark on Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:17 pm

I followed the instructions, whereever they are I found them with google the one time, then I needed to restart and after that I couldn't find the instructions again, anyway my system was still the same after reboot, except it had some problem with 'software updates available'.
Then I just did an Install and overwrote my Good Mint 2.1 and all my software that I selected and kept. Is there a way to save software selection?
After I installed, my wireless didn't work and abviously all updates, configuraion, etc, because I had no internet. Now I plugged in to wired internet and I have internet working, did the updates..
I didn't overwrite my Mint 2.1 (or is it 2.0 ubuntu) on my desktop, because I have room to have more than one installed. On here the laptop Compac presario 2175CA, I have enough room only for one linux install - 40gb drive, with 20gb of shared data in fat32, 12gb for xp and 6gb for linux, 1gb for swap.
So far my initial impression of 2.2 is mediocre. But I'm not the type that easily gives up. I will play around with this one for a while.
electronic spark
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Prometheus and 26 guests