Installing over another distro

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Installing over another distro

Postby Wesdog on Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:20 pm

I have sabayon installed on my second hard drive a 120gb model. I just made a couple of small partitions for it to try out sabayon and wasnt happy at all with it (long story). I would like to install linuxmint on to this hard drive and use most of the hard drive. I would like to leave a 50GB or so partition to share files between linux/windows something like a fat32 or ntfs (can you use ntfs in linux Im a noob). This is for mp3's and movies and whatever else I may want to use on both systems.

Is it best just to use gparted to repartition the hard drive and install linux mint that way? Is that the best program or is there a better one.

When I installed sabayon I lost part of my main hard drive 160GB model. For some reason it formatted a 36GB section of the hard drive and made it 100mb so I have to figure out how to get that space back also without messing up my main 127GB windows partition. I am 100% sure I never chose to format anything on hda0 (my main drive). Some of this can be frustrating but at the same time its fun to explore and learn about new things and how to do things in a new/different way.