Linux Mint 14 grub failure.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
poincare

Linux Mint 14 grub failure.

Post by poincare »

Hello,

I am new to Mint and am having a super difficult time trying to get this problem solved. I installed Mint 14 Cinnamon on my desktop but at the end of the install it reported "grub-efi failed to install into /target/" So I exited the install and chroot'ed into my Mint system an executed sudo apt-get update;sudo apt-get install grub-efi grub-efi-amd64 grub-efi-amd64-bin along with grub-install. But that did not seem to do anything....

Now, I cannot boot into Linux Mint 14 and there is no other operating system installed on my hard drive. When I try to boot into Linux Mint 14, it just says "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key".

If I reinstall Linux Mint 14 again, I get the same error. So, this is preventing me from installing -- but it seems other people have (u)efi errors too but no one seems to get an install.

My disk is GPT with the defaults from the Linux Minit 14 install. It looks like sda1 is 95M, sda2 480GB, sda3 swap.

Can anyone help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
wayne128

Re: Linux Mint 14 grub failure.

Post by wayne128 »

read this
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/858

and this
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=107620

and this
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/UE ... RUB.282.29

for me, I take easy way out, format hard disk to legacy msdos format, then all will be well.
poincare

Post by poincare »

I viewed the links but they are highly technical for new users or they are speaking about Linux Mint 13 and not version 14.