Lilo works...Grub doesnt

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Lilo works...Grub doesnt

Postby sbeyeforhire on Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:04 pm

Tried to install mint but Grub would not initiate...

I Installed Mandriva and Lilo worked fine

I dont want to use Mandriva, I want to use Mint.

How do I overcome this Grub boot loader issue?
sbeyeforhire
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Lilo works...Grub doesnt

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:13 pm

Well both grub and lilo are close to the hardware, so please tell us what you have
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby sbeyeforhire on Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:58 pm

Im not sure what you're asking me. I am still new to the linux particulars. Basically what happened was I was using Windows. On day it just stopped working right. I would log on, It would load my wallpaper but before the icons showed up It would log me back off. It would happen over and over. I tried the recovery disk but same thing.

Geek squad could not help me. It seemed the only option left was to buy a new windows. Deciding I was done dealing with microsoft I chose to go linux. My friend was helping me but every version we tried would give the a "GRUB Error". It was only when we tried mandriva that I was givien an option to boot with lilo. Chose that and it has been fine. However I want to use mint now but not sure how to get past the GRUB issue.

I am using a Toshiba Laptop QOSMIO F15R.
sbeyeforhire
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Fred on Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:31 pm

sbeyeforhire,
I am using a Toshiba Laptop QOSMIO F15R

I am afraid this might be your biggest problem. Did this computer come with Vista on it?

We MIGHT be able to work around this. If you are willing to play a bit we will try.

Fred

EDIT: Do you have anything on this computer now?