SOLVED LM 14/Cinnamon on HP Mini 311 - review partitions

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
CorkVDH

SOLVED LM 14/Cinnamon on HP Mini 311 - review partitions

Post by CorkVDH »

I'm new to Linux, having primarily used MS-DOS/Windows machines since the mid-80's. To try Linux I chose to install Mint 14 on my HP Mini 311, (3 GB RAM, 160 GB drive). I intend to use this to determine if I can make Mint the primary OS for all my home PC's, including my wife's laptop, so I'll be playing with applications to see if I can cover all the bases in a manner that's acceptable to her.

For the first install, I let the installation program create it's own partitions and all went fine. After reading a great deal of conflicting advice regarding what partitions should be set up (some of which I actually understood!) I tried to reinstall multiple times with various combinations of partitions, but none of the installations succeeded. Finally, I created a new install "disk" on a USB stick and successfully installed into a set of custom partitions. Here's what I have:
sda1 487 MB /boot
sda2 1k ?
sda5 23.9 GB /
sda6 2.9 GB swap
sda7 121.9 GB /home

I know some of the partitions are likely the wrong size (the /boot and / partitions are too big, and the swap is either slightly too small or too big, right?) However, I just read another thread in which the advice was to have a /data partition rather than a /home. Keeping in mind that this is a test bed for me, is it worth redoing again?

I must say I am impressed with the performance of the system compared to Windows 7 Pro, and I'm having a blast learning about Linux. The support community is astounding.

Cork
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
remoulder
Level 17