Linux Mint 14 isn't saving settings and data.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MRshadowlak

Linux Mint 14 isn't saving settings and data.

Post by MRshadowlak »

I'm new to Linux and wasn't sure if this was the place to post this topic, please point me in the right direction if I'm in the wrong place.

Down to business, I installed Linux alongside Windows 7 Ultimate. Everything works fine and is running smoothly. However, after I shutdown the computer and boot back in Linux simple seems to reset itself. None of the installed programs I had saved are present and must be re downloaded, and all settings have been reset to default.

Any help would be appreciated guys. :?:
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Re: Linux Mint 14 isn't saving settings and data.

Post by karlchen »

Hello, MRshadowlak.
Down to business, I installed Linux alongside Windows 7 Ultimate.
Hm. Did your really install Linux Mint on a dedicated disk partition? What you describe next suggests that you started an installation by running Mint4win from inside Windows.

If this is the case, then you will have stepped into the same trap as the starter of this thread, mint4win installation always reconfiguring Linux mint, and the starter of this thread, New Settings Not Persistent Between Boots, solution at the end.

Cheers,
Karl
The people of Alderaan have been bravely fighting back the clone warriors sent out by the unscrupulous Sith Lord Palpatine for 750 days now.
Lifeline
usbtux

Post by usbtux »