errno 5 [input/output error on install]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

errno 5 [input/output error on install]

Postby Stu_the_scot on Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:01 pm

Hey everyone.
I am a complete newbie to Linux and forums and am having real trouble installing mint 14.1 cinnamon to my computer. This is my first non-windows install and although the live boot works and the o/s seems to be exactly what I am looking for, I cannot get it to install to the Hard drive. I am sure I am missing something obvious.

I have raked a good few forums including this one looking for solutions and as a result I have tried both the 16 and 32 bit versions (slow burn speed) having validated the checksum on both downloads, I have replaced the motherboard battery, tested on two different hard drives, tried installation with a memory module removed, and I have also replaced the DVD drive to see if this is the problem. I have also tested the hard disks and tried a few different partition options using ultimate boot disk. I have yet to established whether processor is PAE enabled (as far as I can see it is). I am unable to boot from usb stick as there is no option in my bios. Despite all these recommendations in each instance(when the installer doesn't crash) I get to the copying files part of the installation and get the following error: [errno 5] Input/output (see image attached)
Screenshot from 2013-01-01 23_37_36.png
screen dump of installation crash
Screenshot from 2013-01-01 23_37_36.png (250.87 KiB) Viewed 2598 times

I also get a greeter application crash on booting via DVD occasionally – don’t know if this is relevant. Usually requires reboot as it then asks for login details I don’t have!

System is a bit of a hotchpotch but was running windows seven until about a week ago when I started this saga.
Spec is as follows: