Bianca LiveCD Bug - error starting the GNOME Settings Daemon

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Bianca LiveCD Bug - error starting the GNOME Settings Daemon

Postby RobK on Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:22 pm

When I boot the LiveCD, GNOME comes up and I see the following error message:

There was an error starting the GNOME Settings Daemon.

Some things, such as themes, sounds, or background settings may not work correctly.

The last error message was:

Activation of org.gnome.SettingsDaemon timed out

GNOME will still try to restart the Settings Daemon next time you log in.


I do not see this message when I use the Ubuntu LiveCD.

Rob
RobK
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:52 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby rfruth on Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:59 pm

I see messages too (Bianca final) - can't even boot from the CD (downloaded and burned a 2nd CD just to be sure, same thing (nothing)) - oddly a beta copy of Bianca boots fine... so does Bea, am using that for now. :shock:
User avatar
rfruth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:53 am
Location: Texas (USA)

Postby manishk on Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:05 am

I get that too (upgraded from bianca beta to bianca). I thought it was some error in my system.
"...Many people can only keep on fighting when they expect to win. I'm not like that, I always expect to lose. I fight anyway, and sometimes I win."

-Stallman
User avatar
manishk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: India

Postby rfruth on Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:28 pm

I said can't even boot from (final Bianca) CD thats not true, I boot from the CD, get the messages, choose boot from the menu & 30 seconds or so later the system hangs (tried safe graphics mode and several of the F4 ((VGA)) choices to no avail) several different Bianca CDs = same result (Bianca Beta is ok for me as is Bea) :roll:
User avatar
rfruth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:53 am
Location: Texas (USA)

Postby Carenthir on Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:45 am

I have the same message on my desktop PC ( HP Pavilion 3717 ). However it doesn't appear on another no-name PC with the same installation medium ...

The genuine Ubuntu liveCD doesn't trigger the message on the HP.

Maybe Mint performs a more thoroughly hardware check than Edgy ?
Carenthir
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:35 am

Postby Lolo Uila on Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:20 pm

I had that same message from the live CD, but when I installed it on my hard drive I didn't get the error. Seems to be an issue with the live CD that (at least for me) doesn't get carried over to the installed OS.
User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Postby shrike on Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:40 am

I also get this, but only when there's a network cable attached during boot from the livecd. Maybe it tries to save the network settings and fails? Until now i have just ignored this, as it seems to have no other impact on the system.
shrike
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:00 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Re: Bianca LiveCD Bug - error starting the GNOME Settings Daemon

Postby arunpc on Sat May 31, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi folks,
I got this error and i the way i got out of this was to have the settings for my loopback interface configured correctly, The error to me was because there are services who can get loopback replies. For the description and the solution of my problem, please refer to my blog,
http://arunpc.com/2008/06/01/ubuntu-the ... gs-daemon/
Do let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Arun.PC
arunpc
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Znap! and 17 guests