Anyone else having strange DNS issues on Boot?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Anyone else having strange DNS issues on Boot?

Postby ikunat33 on Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:26 am

Once I have booted into the Live CD and connected to the wireless access point I can not browse the web.

If right click on the network manager it shows all the proper connection information including the DNS addresses for my ISP.
Now when I finally got pissed off enough that my brain kicked I opened up a command prompt and looked at /etc/resolv.conf it turned out to be empty. I then opened up Menu->Administration->Network and found that it reflected this absence of DNS server information...

Anyone else have this problem??
ikunat33
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:11 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Anyone else having strange DNS issues on Boot?

Postby wavespot on Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:16 am

yes it happened. resolvconf package now maintains a dynamic resolv.conf file. Before, resolv.conf used to be a real file, this change explains your situation.

/etc/resolv.conf is now a symlink, pointing either to /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf (main LM edition), or /etc/resolvconf/run/resolv.conf (LMDE edition).
wavespot
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Anyone else having strange DNS issues on Boot?

Postby ikunat33 on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:06 pm

Hmmm... I think it is still a problem in the Mint 14 MATE eddition. Even after running all the updates I was having to manually change my DNS info every time I switched networks.

On the up side i have moved back to Mint 13 and decided to try the KDE eddition. This is the first time I have tried the KDE desktop and it is so clean and everything works so nicely I can not see myself going back at the moment.

I used to be so hard core Gnome but with all the BS that has happened with Gnome, Ubuntu, etc... It is dead to me... and my brother.. and my GF... pretty much everyone in my family is dooing the oooh ahhhh thing over the KDE desktop environment; Even the ones used to the apple systems.

I just want things to work.

Thanks for your response.
ikunat33
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:11 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eternoMind and 16 guests