Can't load other distro

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can't load other distro

Postby flyboy1565 on Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:52 am

ok so i love linux mint, but i like to try new things.. play with other systems... I put mint by its self on my lx6810 gateway/asus system. I have tried to put other distros on a usb stick creating a linux live usb, but when i boot from the usb stick, it just flashes "_" it could sit there for hours... could anyone help me :D thanks all
flyboy1565
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby kc1di on Thu Apr 18, 2013 5:56 am

how are you creating the live usb disks?
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby flyboy1565 on Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:37 pm

I am using linux liveusb maker... Its how I originally did my first install with mint

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
flyboy1565
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby kc1di on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:27 pm

i've had problems with that creator with some distros you might want to give unetbootin a try it's in the repositories.
Which distros are you having problems with and did you check your download to make sure it's ok?
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby flyboy1565 on Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:56 am

Thanks for the response... I tried ubunten, but it didn't like the download and I was using it with my original download of Linux mint... Which I copied to my new Linux system... I'll ubuntien again

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
flyboy1565
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby kc1di on Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:57 am

First check to make sure the download is good. Then try a different usb stick if you have one.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby usbtux on Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:43 pm

Try multisystem http://liveusb.info/dotclear/index.php? ... em-USB-3.0 its in French but use google translate and you'll be fine.

Seems to work fine some isos you need to look in the menu for buts its easy once youve done it once.
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
Image
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby flyboy1565 on Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:22 am

Also does anyone recommend using transmission for distro download
Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2
flyboy1565
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby flyboy1565 on Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:13 am

ok i tried using unetbootin and it didn't change anything and i check md5sum of the file. Same story i see my bios splash screen and then 15mins of "_" flashing.... it didn't load anything... is there something in this system i may have done to make it to where it won't load anything new? maybe i should nuke this computer, except i don't know how to clear this hard like it was when i put mint on it... :)
flyboy1565
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Can't load other distro

Postby kc1di on Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:05 am

flyboy1565 wrote:ok i tried using unetbootin and it didn't change anything and i check md5sum of the file. Same story i see my bios splash screen and then 15mins of "_" flashing.... it didn't load anything... is there something in this system i may have done to make it to where it won't load anything new? maybe i should nuke this computer, except i don't know how to clear this hard like it was when i put mint on it... :)

Transmission should be fine, i've used it many times.

There is obviously something amiss with the way your bios is addressing the usb ports. can you burn the image to a DVD and try it that way?
if not. go into the bois setup if you can and see if there is something wrong with the setup , IE set to usb 3 with a usb 2 stick etc. Just a long shot though.
if that fails you may want to try the nomodeset parameter in the boot line. here's a page that tells how to do that.
When the grub screen first comes up I'm assuming you see that screen before it goes blank. press the f6 key and you should get to a grub menu screen
once there in the boot line enter the follow after the last entery
Code: Select all
nomodeset
then hit enter. see if that works?
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abbarnett, guidonie and 13 guests