Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby muddygeek on Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:01 pm

So... I just installed Mint 5 on my Compaq Presario v2000z notebook. I've successfully ran Ubuntu 8.04 back to 5.something on it. I also had Mint 4 installed and working properly before. I opted to install a fresh copy per advisement. Now I am without a GUI. I'm not of the command line exactly but I don't know what I need to do to make things work. I get GRUB up fine (graphical version at that) and then Mint starts booting. However, it takes an extraordinarily long time to boot (as I'm sure its looking for something that doesn't exist or is corrupted?). Eventually I'm left with a black screen stating "BusyBox v.1.1.3 (Debian ...) Built-in shell (ash) / Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

So help um helps me about as much as an Amish man driving a car. Thus my plea to those of you with far greater knowledge, what do I do?

By the way, I also had the same problem with Mint 5 Beta.

Specs...
Compaq Presario v2000z
ATI graphics
Sempron 2800
30 GB partition
2 GB RAM
2 GB swap
what else do you need to know?


Chris
http://www.muddygeek.com
muddygeek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby gamx on Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:25 pm

hey, i have a exactly similar problem here. seems linux mint isn't too friendly to our laptops :cry:
gamx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:06 pm

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:09 am

I've got this same problem. I did not have this issue on the Beta 048.

I am doing a fresh install on top of Beta 048. Only my /home partition is intact from 048.

I have a Compaq Presario v5000 series notebook.

ATI graphics
AMD Turion 64 CPU
1.25 Gig of RAM
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:34 am

gamx wrote:hey, i have a exactly similar problem here. seems linux mint isn't too friendly to our laptops :cry:


Specs on your computer?
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Missed on Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:33 pm

I have exactly the same problem with my desk-top.

Asus M2NPV-VM
AMD 6000 X2
2Gb DDR2-800
Seagate 320 Gb
Viewsonic 22 widescreen

If I do a soft reset after the GUI fails to open, the system starts up normally.

I also did a complete reinstall, including my home partition, when this problem occurred, so I don't think it is anything that I have changed.
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:41 pm

Missed wrote:I have exactly the same problem with my desk-top.

Asus M2NPV-VM
AMD 6000 X2
2Gb DDR2-800
Seagate 320 Gb
Viewsonic 22 widescreen

If I do a soft reset after the GUI fails to open, the system starts up normally.

I also did a complete reinstall, including my home partition, when this problem occurred, so I don't think it is anything that I have changed.


What is a "soft reset"?
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Missed on Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:49 pm

Computersleuth wrote:What is a "soft reset"?


Ctrl/Alt/Delete.
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:54 pm

Missed wrote:
Computersleuth wrote:What is a "soft reset"?


Ctrl/Alt/Delete.


Thanks . . .

I do not remember that my system booted normally after a soft reset . . . I will check it out this evening (about 8 hours from now). 8)
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:01 pm

Missed wrote:
Computersleuth wrote:What is a "soft reset"?


Ctrl/Alt/Delete.


Thanks . . .

I do not remember that my system booted normally after a soft reset . . . I will check it out this evening (about 8 hours from now). 8)
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby muddygeek on Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:49 pm

I've tried soft and hard reboots. Neither one changes anything for me. Any other ideas?


Chris
http://www.muddygeek.com
muddygeek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Splunge on Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Hi Guys,
Heard about mint a lot and first tried it with Elyssa RC1. All worked fine and I loved it. Waited for the final before I ditched my Ubuntu partition. Installed today and when I rebooted, all looked good, nice grub menu, but it would not load!

The mint bar (not sure what to call it) kept going across but never loaded. I rebooted and chose the recovery option and told it to boot normally and it did. It seemed to work but after a reboot it does the exact same thing.

I fixed it, BUT, I did this by using the above method and then sudo apt-get dist upgrade. <<< Did I do bad? Am I still using a Mint install or do I have some funky hybrid now?

I'd rather know so if I have to re-install I can do it now before I start setting everything the way I like.

Great job Clem and all supporters. Another Mint convert has jumped on board!
Splunge
 

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Splunge on Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:02 pm

Just registered as well, don't know why I thought I had already done so above :(
Splunge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby gamx on Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:06 pm

Apparently the ramdisk initrd is not initializing the root kernel which causes it to fall back into initramfs which is sorta like your Windows Safe Mode. Never had one of these problems with other distros using the 2.6 series of kernels thou, which is weird :|
gamx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:06 pm

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby muddygeek on Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:44 pm

That's what's surprising me here too. Like I said, I've used Ubuntu 8.04 on this laptop which is what Mint 5 is based off of. I don't get why Mint is having an issue here.
muddygeek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Missed on Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:50 pm

I never had this problem with Daryna.

Anyway, I turned off quiet & splash at the grub screen, did several soft boots, because the first didn't work, and the list on the screen stopped at different places each time. So, not much help from that. Would the system logs help? If so which one?
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby gamx on Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:51 pm

You'd have to see where it stalls before initializing the rescue shell (initramfs) Mine stalls when loading the scsi devices. Hopefully with more detailed logs we can isolate the problem with the kernel :)
gamx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:06 pm

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:08 am

I've attempted several soft boots. Also booting into recovery mode. No joy.
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Missed on Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:22 am

I just kept trying. Eventually success!
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby vortex_noob on Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:57 am

I also had the same problem w/ initramfs on Elyssa

Never encountered these sort of problem using Cassandra and Daryna.
My spec is:
Intel C2D E6400
AsRock 775Dual-VSTA Via PT880 Pro
2 GB RAM
Leadtek 6800XT 128MB

A workaround that I used to get into login window was by editing the /boot/grub/menu.lst
from 'kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24.16 - generic root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet_splash' and change the 'quiet_splash' into 'all_generic_ide'

However, I noticed that after grub loads, the time it takes to get into the login window is very very long. And once I got into the desktop, the 'login window ready' sound was looping on and on, so I turned that particular system sound altogether to fix the problem.

Using the pulse sound, I noticed crackling sound when playing music that and Rhythmbox-metadata uses so much CPU resources that it interferes w/ tvtime and Totem running smoothly when run together that never happened in the previous Mint. Does anybody know how to alleviate these problems? As far as the interface, I love Elyssa but the pulse sound problem and the slow loading time really ruin the whole Mint experience :(

EDIT: I'll try to resolve these issues for a few days but If they still persist, I'm going back to Daryna and wait for the next revision. Mint rocks
Last edited by vortex_noob on Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
vortex_noob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:38 am
Location: Indonesia

Re: Fresh install Mint 5 Elyssa and no gui to be had

Postby Computersleuth on Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:01 am

On one occasion, I booted into Recovery mode. There was plain-text with a lot of messages. One message said that it could not find /dev/hda6, which is the partition I allocated to / . Well, it seems that when I installed Mint 5 Stable, I specified the filesystem to be ext3 and formatted it that way.

I have now re-installed, specifying /dev/hda6 as an ext2 filesystem - which is the way it is formatted. Now, when Mint loads, it recognizes /dev/hda6 as the / drive.

For me, it seems that Mint could not locate the / drive and went into the default shell. I am guessing that others may have the same problem for a similar reason - that is, Mint not finding the / drive.
User avatar
Computersleuth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Ron Paul Country, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas and 30 guests