MINT alternate CD??

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

MINT alternate CD??

Postby Wesley on Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:23 am

hi guys

downloaded mint 5 gnome ISO, booted up on virtualbox (XP host), got to the desktop, looks very nice, but when i install, the partition bit just hang at 20% doing nothing.

so i think it's related to virtualbox, not the MINT itself, so i'm wondered if it's possible to install MINT without LIVE CD? just like Ubuntu-alternate CD.

Thanks

Wesley
Wesley
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MINT alternate CD??

Postby 67GTA on Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Mint does not have an alternate CD version.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: MINT alternate CD??

Postby Nessa on Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:49 am

Is it possible to install the ubuntu alternate cd and then adding the Minty flavor once it's up and running?
I want a balance between tweaking my OS and actually being able to use it.
Nessa
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: MINT alternate CD??

Postby 67GTA on Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:02 am

Not really. Mint 5 isn't directly based on Hardy, so a minimal Hardy install with Mint repos, still won't equal Mint. You will have a mixture of both without the stableness of Mint. Clem makes a lot of changes under the hood that is not done in Ubuntu also.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: MINT alternate CD??

Postby rbanavara on Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:51 am

If you are keen on getting it installed on VM, then probably we can try to find whats makes it stall at 20%. If you run the install command from command prompt, it should dispaly some errors. Based on that you may be able troubleshoot the install. Else you can post here the error. To get the command line for installable, the desktop icon properties should help.
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it -Husse
User avatar
rbanavara
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:07 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 16 guests