Double installation of Mint

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Double installation of Mint

Postby karlox on Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:00 pm

I have installed Bianca in the same HDD that it was installed Bea :lol: , in the free space avalaible :idea: . According to gnome partition manager i have the sistem like this...
/dev/hda1 and is not mounted. ( bea i think)
/dev/hda3 /,/dev/.static/dev boot (bianca i think)
/dev/hda2 with 2 linux swap partitions.

When i look for the first partition just to see the files , i cannot find them. when i reboot, grub have trouble , My intention is to move the files from one partition to the new one and format and resize. What do i need to do it work ?
how do i know what is the swap partition to erase ?
I did this because i couldnt upgrade linux mint :cry:

Carlos
User avatar
karlox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: San Salvador , El Salvador

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby clem on Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:58 am

Hi carlos,

Show us the result of "sudo fdisk -l" and "mount"

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby karlox on Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:03 pm

1. point.
Code: Select all
Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40000000000 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4863 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1        3944    31680148+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2            4733        4863     1052257+   5  Extended
/dev/hda3   *        3945        4732     6329610   83  Linux
/dev/hda5            4771        4863      746991   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda6            4733        4770      305172   82  Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order

2. point.
Code: Select all
/dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
procbususb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
lrm on /lib/modules/2.6.17-11-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
fusesmb on /home/carlox/Network type fuse (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,max_read=32768)
/dev/hdc on /media/cdrom0 type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,user=carlox)

Thanks for your help
Carlos
User avatar
karlox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: San Salvador , El Salvador

Postby clem on Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:50 am

Ok, so by the look of things you're running the Linux installed on /dev/hda3 and your other linux is installed on /dev/hda1. So to get the data out of this /dev/hda1, you need to mount the partition.

To do that open a terminal and type:

sudo mkdir /media/hda1
sudo mount /dev/hda1 /media/hda1

Then you can access your partition in /media/hda1 and maybe your files in /media/hda1/home/carlos ? (copy them over to /home/carlos for instance).

Note: One other thing. You don't need to have 2 swap partitions.. you can use the same one for both installations... simply cause they're not going to use it at the same time anyway.

Good luck,
Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby trsnrtr on Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:03 pm

I have Bea installed along with XP and wanted to do a clean install of Bianca while keeping the XP and removing Bea. The auto install gives me the option of resizing my Linux partitions presumably keeping Bea and ending up with the same problem as the original poster or... it gives me the option of reformatting the entire drive which I assume will remove XP.

So, I want to end up with a clean install of Bianca and keep XP. What's the easiest way to do that?

Dennis
User avatar
trsnrtr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:11 pm

Postby clem on Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:36 pm

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby clem on Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:38 pm

Dennis: the guide above is an excellent read. However, if you already have a partition for Bea and want to replace it with Bianca, then you don't need to do anything to your partitions. Just select "do it manually" and don't do anything.. click next. Then select the Bea partition for your / and the swap partition for your swap. This will result in installing Bianca where your Bea was.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby trsnrtr on Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:20 pm

clem wrote:Dennis: the guide above is an excellent read. However, if you already have a partition for Bea and want to replace it with Bianca, then you don't need to do anything to your partitions. Just select "do it manually" and don't do anything.. click next. Then select the Bea partition for your / and the swap partition for your swap. This will result in installing Bianca where your Bea was.

Clem


Thanks, Clem, I figured that out, or at least I thought it would work so I gave it a try and everything is great. Thanks, again.

Dennis
User avatar
trsnrtr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:11 pm

It works...

Postby karlox on Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:31 am

Thanks Clem...
I follow your instructions and it worked. i found i think that the hda partition worked only in the same session but its ok.
One more question...
Can i delete the system files of the old installation of linux and move all the data to the new linux and then erase the partion and use all that space for the new linux. ??? The old linux is not in grub so i think i will not have trouble but i am just a beginner.
Thanks a lot.
merci beaucoup

Carlos
P.s.
I think i have trouble before becouse i installed the new mint with the same username and password of the old linux mint. What do you think?
User avatar
karlox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: San Salvador , El Salvador

Postby clem on Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:21 pm

Yes, that should be fine.

Good luck,
Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests