Is there other way to install mint???

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Is there other way to install mint???

Postby otozymba on Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:35 am

hi, this is my first time here. i've just downloaded and burnt Linux Mint Elyssa 5. After i boot somehow i can't get past the login, so i can't boot into live cd. i want to install Linux Mint so is there any other way to install it other than booting from live cd?

On ubuntu, on the boot menu, it has 'intall ubuntu' option which makes you install ubuntu on your computer without going into live cd.

Any help? :( :(
otozymba
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:28 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is there other way to install mint???

Postby 67GTA on Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:54 pm

Have you tried booting in compatibility mode? Other live CD workarounds here: http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD and a tutorial for USB install here: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=3250
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Is there other way to install mint???

Postby otozymba on Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:50 am

67GTA wrote:Have you tried booting in compatibility mode? Other live CD workarounds here: http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD and a tutorial for USB install here: http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =42&t=3250


yeah, i've tried botting in compatibility mode but after the loading it says 'Input signal out of range change settings to 1280x1024 -60Hz' then my screen goes black. i've waited for like 30 mins but the screen is still black. help plz
otozymba
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:28 am

Re: Is there other way to install mint???

Postby 67GTA on Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:16 am

Your graphics card/ monitor isn't being detected correctly. You might try booting in compatibility mode, but try putting
Code: Select all
xforcevesa
in the boot options before hitting enter.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests