Dual boot(Win 7, Mint) GRUB error: grub rescue>

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Dual boot(Win 7, Mint) GRUB error: grub rescue>

Postby kristian12321 on Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:00 pm

I'm new to linux. I was dual booting win 7 and linux mint. I descided to remove linux mint for a whiile and to make some changes (increase,merge) of my partitions and then install it again. So I booted Windows 7 and from there I formated the 3 partitons (swap,boot and home) on which i had Linux installed. I formated them and then merged them to my D disk. After that i shrinked 50 Gb from my D-disk to make some unnallocated (free) space so I can install Linux again. But after I restarted my PC it wouldn't boot. It gives me the message:
"No such partition
grub rescue>"
I am aware that linux mint was on my MBR and i think it means that it will always boot first over windows 7 or something like that. But now the damage is made so can anyone tell me what to type in that "grub rescue>" so i can at least boot windows 7. And also after booting Win 7 what should I do to set Win 7 loader to be on my MBR i.e to Win 7 to be the first so boot? And please can you give me some tip on how to safety unninstall linux from dual boot so i will know what to do next time?
kristian12321
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Dual boot(Win 7, Mint) GRUB error: grub rescue>

Postby wayne128 on Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:23 pm

kristian12321 wrote:I descided to remove linux mint for a whiile and to make some changes (increase,merge) of my partitions and then install it again.

"No such partition
grub rescue>"

I am aware that linux mint was on my MBR

and i think it means that it will always boot first over windows 7 or something like that.

Not really..

But now the damage is made so can anyone tell me what to type in that "grub rescue>" so i can at least boot windows 7.