GUI editing of Grub menu and display time (Solved kinda)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

GUI editing of Grub menu and display time (Solved kinda)

Postby OnlyMe on Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:54 pm

In the distro I came from, I was able to go into the control center and edit the Grub menu, renaming things. I was also able to change the amount of time the menu displays and which OS was the default OS. All graphically. I have been poking around trying to find similar ability in Mint 5. Is there? Where can it be found?
Last edited by OnlyMe on Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
OnlyMe
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Florida - USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: GUI editing of Grub menu and display time

Postby Fred on Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:41 pm

OnlyMe,

If you can type the answers into a GUI you can type them directly into the config file. You don't need a GUI to do that for you.

gksu gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

Viola... there it is, just change the line entries you wish to modify, save and close.

That's all there is to it. :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: GUI editing of Grub menu and display time

Postby OnlyMe on Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:13 pm

Thank you, Fred. I was able to make the simple tweak I wanted to make using the CLI.
While I may not have the same enthusiasm for CLI as you do, I really appreciate your help.
OnlyMe
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Florida - USA

Re: GUI editing of Grub menu and display time

Postby paul_sc1 on Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:44 pm

You may want to take a look at this thread for the benefits of using a gui grub editor and a solution.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=818177

I have not used it, but I do see that startupmanager is in synaptic if you do a search.

*edit
well curiosity got to me. I did install startupmanager. There is an entry in the applications menu, however, that did not work for me. The entry in the control panel worked fine after entering the prompt password..

Hope it helps.
paul_sc1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:49 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wpshooter and 11 guests