Installing to raid 0

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Installing to raid 0

Postby cjnkns on Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:26 pm

Hi everyone -

I have been using Ubuntu on my lappy for some time now and would like to try mint out...

I am trying to figure out how to install mint to raid 0.
During the install process I am given the option to use the entire disc. Underneath this it shows my two disks which are both approx 74Gb.
But, I can only select one of them. I am given a manual option but do not know how to set up the partions correctly across the two disks...?
Any help is appreciated!

Thanks
cjnkns
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing to raid 0

Postby Fred on Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:52 pm

cjnkns,

Mint doesn't support dmraid, which is what you need to use your current hardware assisted raid set-up.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Installing to raid 0

Postby Guest on Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:08 pm

I am not sure what you mean by dmraid? So does this mean I can not install mint?
Guest
 

Re: Installing to raid 0

Postby Fred on Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:57 pm

Guest,

You can install Mint. You just can't use hardware assisted raid.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Installing to raid 0

Postby cjnkns on Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:38 am

Thanks for the help!

When I try to install mint I picked the Use Entire disk and selected the first hard disk in the list. (There are two list but I can only select one)
After the install I get a grub boot error and that's it boot up just stops.

Seems strange to me i can install Fedora 9, but not mint (easily anywa)

I'll look for more answers thanks for the help!
cjnkns
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:23 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests