Mint won't boot due to faulty root filesystem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint won't boot due to faulty root filesystem

Postby tomk@hawks on Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:32 pm

I seem to have a corrupted root filesystem. Whenever I try to boot I get past splash screen and a file system check occurs due to detected errors. Sometimes I get a request to run fcsk but I need root password. There is no root password. I am unable to proceed and I go around in circles trying to boot again. Live CD works no problems but doesn't recognise or I can't find the data on the original partition/mint installation. I have tried testdisk from the Insert application and it recognises partition but don't know how to repair from here. I would prefer not to do a reinstall, but would like to locate and copy data to a USB if not able to repair faulty root filesystem. Any ideas? I am a relative newbie but the question seemed more appropriate in this section.

Thanks,
Tom
tomk@hawks
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Mint won't boot due to faulty root filesystem

Postby newW2 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:54 pm

Was this working before, as in could you boot repeatedly without problems? Or did you install, and on the first boot the problem appeared? What are you system particulars? What type of hard drive or hard drives do you have (ide, sata, a mix of ide and sata)? Did you install any other distribution after you installed Linux Mint?
newW2
Level 6
Level 6

Postby tomk@hawks on Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:08 pm