Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby Guest on Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:03 pm

Hi, my problem is:

1. I've installed Elyssa but forgot ID and password
2. I've run live CD of GParted and rearrange partitions (ext3 9,5G + SWAP 512MB)
3. Once more have I run installation of Elyssa (md5 is ok!)
4. After I choose Linux instead of WinXP in GRUB menu it doesn' lead me to Mint's login window but to some "DOS-alike" black-and-white command line (or terminal)

What have I acctualy broken and how can i repair it???


:)


Thanks for patience - I'm newbie at all
Guest
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:38 pm

How did you rearrange partitions?
I see one of two things have happened:
1. GRUB tries to boot into the wrong partition
2. UUID hell.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby ziemowitt on Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:02 am

Than You, Magnus.

First I had one ext3 with system and pushed it under installation without swap (now I remember it precisely, I wrote wrong in my first post)
I had to do so strange because Partitioning Program in Installator didnit give me opportunity to set swap and I counted to set it later.

But..!

Later on I have run GParted live CD and deleted that 10GB linux partition. From unallocated space I created new one.
Then I managed to settle 512 swap partition and 9,5 system partition.

Afterwards when I choose Linux (becauce GRUB menu is working ok) I can even see characteristical Mint logo on black background but after some 3-4min screen is blanked and only command line is what you can see.

....help

Best Regards

Slawek
ziemowitt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:25 pm

Re: Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby MagnusB on Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:39 pm

I think you have to edit your /etc/fstab so that it use /dev/sdxx instead of UUID. Run a live session, and mount your root partition (/), and edit /etc/fstab:
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /media/sdxx/etc/fstab

(you need to change the path, of course) Then you will see something like:
# /dev/sda1
UUID=ccebdb74-f621-4b8f-a2cc-5f6ecea2c7ca / jfs relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1

I use JFS instead of ext3 (a little experiment), but what you need to do is to change the position of UUID= with # dev/sda1, so it looks like this:
# UUID=ccebdb74-f621-4b8f-a2cc-5f6ecea2c7ca
/dev/sda1 / jfs relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby ziemowitt on Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:10 am

Dear Magnus, please - slowly... :)
I've just once tried to solve something in terminal.


MagnusB wrote:I think you have to edit your /etc/fstab so that it use /dev/sdxx instead of UUID.

Could you explain me what do you mean exactly??

MagnusB wrote: ....and mount your root partition (/)

How can I mount it is live session??

MagnusB wrote:(you need to change the path, of course)

Which path should I change on?

I'm looser... :) Need to learn a lot
ziemowitt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:25 pm

Re: Elyssa doesn't run after choosing OS in GRUB menu

Postby MagnusB on Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:10 am

ziemowitt wrote:
MagnusB wrote:I think you have to edit your /etc/fstab so that it use /dev/sdxx instead of UUID.

Could you explain me what do you mean exactly??

Just what it say really, changing the way fstab knows what disk to mount
ziemowitt wrote:
MagnusB wrote: ....and mount your root partition (/)

How can I mount it is live session??

The live session recognizes all your partitions at start, there should be a desktop link to it. You are not running a live session with your installation as "base"
ziemowitt wrote:
MagnusB wrote:(you need to change the path, of course)
Which path should I change on?

To wherever the system partition is mounted. Usually /media/disk/sdaxx or something. What you need to do is to locate the fstab in the mounted partition (/etc/fstab) and edit that with:
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /path/to/fstab
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests