How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby mig_akira on Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:40 pm

Hi everyone!

I have 2 NTFS partitions, and they are mounted perfectly when I click on them through the My Computer icon. The problem is that before that, they remain unmounted. And my emule folder is in one of those partitions. So every time I start emule, I have to first click on the partitions to mount them, or else emule will use the default folder.

So I would like to make them mount at every boot!

Thanks!
Linux Mint 5.0 RC1 (Gnome)
Dell Vostro 1400 | Core 2 Duo T8300 @ 2.4GHz | 2.5 GB Ram | nVidia GeForce 8400M GS | 120GB HD | DVD-RW |
mig_akira
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby kirsch92 on Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:13 am

Follow reply by Husse to this post: http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=14198

Change the sda1 to match your partition(s)

I believe you would need a line entry for each partition.
Shuttle SK43G XPC
Sapphire ATI x1550 AGP
or my shiny, new, cheap Compaq 762NR laptop
kirsch92
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:01 am

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:09 am

This would be easier.
Install ntfs-config:
Code: Select all
apt install ntfs-config
Then launch NTFS Configuration Tool found in the menu under Administration.
Now add a mount point by naming it.
Example: /dev/sdb1 could be named sdb1 and then you will see it change to /media/sdb1
Check the add box next to the ones you want to add.
Then Click apply and then OK.

Note: DON'T DO THIS FOR USB HARD DRIVES.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby mig_akira on Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:05 pm

Thanks guys, i tried both ways and both worked perfectly!

Thanks a lot!
Linux Mint 5.0 RC1 (Gnome)
Dell Vostro 1400 | Core 2 Duo T8300 @ 2.4GHz | 2.5 GB Ram | nVidia GeForce 8400M GS | 120GB HD | DVD-RW |
mig_akira
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:56 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests