Applying a label to an ntfs partition (Solved)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Applying a label to an ntfs partition (Solved)

Postby T J Tulley on Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:58 am

I've been studying all the relevant manuals and have successfully labelled my partition sdd1, which is not at present mounted. It doesn't appear in /etc/mtab, but is shown in /etc/fstab by the line:
LABEL=SATABkps /media/sdd1 ntfs-3g rw,uid=1000,nodev,relatime,blksize=4096 0 2.
(ntfs-config is installed).
Its presence in fstab has not resulted in it being mounted but it may not have been labelled when the PC booted this morning.

In response to the command $ ls /dev/disk/by-label lah the report includes the line:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-09-08 11:15 SATABkps -> ../../sdd1

which indicates an unknown path.

after running /$ updatedb, the command /$ locate -b /SATABkps produces no response.

Why? The partition appears in "Computer" when I open that in the desktop screen, with its new name, but it refuses to mount directly in spite of its permissions.
$ sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdd1 and $ sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /SATABkps also fail.

I shall be most grateful for advice.
Last edited by T J Tulley on Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Applying a label to an ntfs partition

Postby tawan on Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:59 am

if the permissions on the drive are root, then it wont automaticallly mount. If you change the permissions to be for you, it should mount when you log on (i think)
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Applying a label to an ntfs partition (Solved).

Postby T J Tulley on Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:41 am

Thanks phonicboom - I have got it mounted now - probably by changing the permissions and/or ownership - can't remember.
It appears as Line 19 in fstab, as shown in my post "A little bit of light on fstab!" in the Newbie forum.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests