Busy Box

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Busy Box

Postby Minty on Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:23 pm

I know that busy box messages are normally due to bad burn or Cd Rom problems

I Have just bought a MSI Wind netbook,

I am unable to install Mint on this machine as have the busy box message when starting the live CD

I have tried burning the ISO on three different burners using different programs, the ISO I have checked the MD5 and all is well, and the ISO I have used to install on 2 different PCs

I have even tried using the live CD from a USB stick and still get the busy box message so now I am a loss

Any help would be nice
Minty
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Busy Box

Postby Guest on Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:36 pm

more info

I can boot into Suse or Ubuntu but not Mint, using same burners, so it really seems to be related to Mint

Even installed Ubuntu except that I managed to kill the XP partition :( and that Ubuntu and Suse are unable to 'see' the wifi card for the moment

I want Mint not the others, help please
Guest
 

Re: Busy Box

Postby Minty95 on Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:06 am

Bump

can nobody give me help on this matter, have installed Ubuntu but rather have Mint ....
Minty95
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:17 am

Re: Busy Box

Postby T J Tulley on Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:29 am

My experience with BusyBox in Mint has been that it appears to be a matter of chance - some installations are prone to it, some not.

My first was Bianca - with that, it was often necessary to [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[Del] from the Initramfs prompt a few times before Bianca would boot.

My present installation of Elyssa boots sweetly - at present - but the previous (on hd0) became after some weeks so insistent on BusyBox (and later terranova) that I had to re-install on a different hd1. Oddly, the one on hd0 now boots without problems!

I have no Linux experience outside Mint.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Re: Busy Box

Postby clem on Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:06 pm

It's usually a matter of kernel version and boot options. On my desktop I need to add the "irqpoll" boot option (at the liveCD boot countdown, press a key, then press Tab to edit the line, and after " -- " insert "irqpoll"). Try that boot option, if it doesn't work try other ones... (all_generic_ide..etc).

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: Busy Box

Postby sciencegirl999 on Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:37 pm

Hi Guys,

Honestly, alot of people have been asking about this initramfs/busy box issue. Same at the ubuntu forums. Sometimes the boot options work, sometimes not. I have tried all the boot options to no avail. This needs to be dealt with. Since so many people are getting it, and since different solutions work for different people it suggests this is a pretty mainstream bug.
sciencegirl999
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:59 pm

Re: Busy Box

Postby Cooler_King on Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:57 am

We're all having the same issue.. it's a ubuntu bug (which was fixed in 8.04.1 but Mint r5 gnome still uses an older base) and it won't be fixed until a new version gets released.

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=17084
Cooler_King
 

Re: Busy Box

Postby T J Tulley on Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:16 pm

Thanks all for some light on this. If we're to be able to make intelligent use of BusyBox we need some sort of manual for it - impossible in BusyBox itself but should be accessible somewhere - not found in MintWiki or Linux Documentation Project. The search page there says both BusyBox and initramfs look like results of automated requests from a virus or spyware.

I did read somewhere that it originated in Debian 4 and I think Linus Torvalds was among the authors.

Can anyone add anything about Terranova - that turned up once instead of BusyBox?

Currently after a lens-clean I have a new working installation, but not yet updated, and still lacking some of my favourite software.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Re: Busy Box

Postby popaclay on Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:40 pm

Hi, I love mint but I had to remove it from my computers because of this problem. Any Idea when it will be fixed?
popaclay
 

Re: Busy Box

Postby Cooler_King on Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:32 am

I switched back to XP. Don't know why the devs don't care about this issue. I think there are dozens of people out there that are having the same issue.
Cooler_King
 

Re: Busy Box

Postby kate273 on Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:50 am

I've got an Advent 4211 (clone of the MSI Wind) and the problem with Mint 5 is the Live CD is not able to handle the Realtek RTL8102E chip - should be fixed in Ubuntu 8.04.1, so hopefully Intrepid Ibex should work, and if Mint 6 is based on that we should be OK.

By the way, does anyone know how I could get involved with the testing of Mint 6 on the Advent?
All the best,
Kate!!
kate273
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:50 am
Location: United Kingdom, Bromley

Re: Busy Box

Postby flintstone on Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:19 pm

After I bought a new computer, this problem, has also sent me back to Windows....to bad, I really did like Mint.
flintstone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 2:23 pm

Re: Busy Box

Postby T J Tulley on Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:50 am

Have a look at my latest post in topic "About BusyBox - Now solved!" in Newbie Questions forum.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests