MD5 Check fails after creating Bootable disc / USB

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Pigman58

MD5 Check fails after creating Bootable disc / USB

Post by Pigman58 »

First off, apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, but my search of the forum produced 47k results......

I am new to Linux and instead of lining Mr Gates' pockets have decided to install Linux Mint Cinnamon 17 on my shiny new PC(currently running DOS only, no pre-installed Windows). The user guide was really helpful in that respect, thanks.

I have downloaded the ISO successfully onto my Windows laptop and checked the MD5 signature (whatever that is!) against that on the web. The MD5 matched, thus the download was successful. I have created an ISO DVD - using the "Burn Disc Image" option and not "Mount" in Windows Explorer 8.1 on my new(ish) laptop. The burn was verified, but the MD5 check failed. I thus created a bootable image on a formatted USB, using "Universal USB Installer". This stated it had been loaded successfully, but again the MD5 check failed.

As a wholly non techie person (remind me again, what's a computer?) I may be making some simple, fundamental error, but could somebody guide where I may be going wrong?

Thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
WinterTroubles

Re: MD5 Check fails after creating Bootable disc / USB

Post by WinterTroubles »

Pigman58 wrote: The burn was verified, but the MD5 check failed. I thus created a bootable image on a formatted USB, using "Universal USB Installer". This stated it had been loaded successfully, but again the MD5 check failed.