GRUB install problem, dual boot with XP

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

GRUB install problem, dual boot with XP

Postby natricks1 on Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:58 am

This is my first attempt at installing linux.
I currently am planning on dual booting windows xp and mint linux. I have many hard drives installed, 2 IDE raid arrays on a controller, one on the primary IDE controller, and one SATA 36g Raptor, which i currently have XP installed on.

The windows install is complete, with the primary partition formatted in ntfs, which is for the file system, and a second logical drive for the swap file(FAT32)
I intend to have linux and xp on the same drive(36g raptor)
The first time i installed mint, it went fine, made 2 partitions manually, one ext3 for the filesystem, and one for the swap. In the final screen before install i did not see the option to change where grub is installed. It installed on hd0, and when i restarted the computer, windows booted right up, not giving me a boot loader.

I am not sure how or where to specify the boot loader be placed, but i have a feeling it's in the wrong place.
Any help is appriciated!
natricks1
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Grub install problem,dual boot with XP

Postby wirechief on Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:34 am