How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Postby hello123 on Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:22 am

Hi
How can I auto mount my windows partitions?
I thought mint is a ubuntu distro, which automatically did this :)

I like the looks and colors of mint. ;)
hello123
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Postby hello123 on Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:26 pm

anybody there?
I cant access my windows partitions.
These are the fdisk details
Code: Select all
dfx@dfx-desktop ~ $ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xdcca5334

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               2        5031    40403475    5  Extended
/dev/sda2   *        5032       11668    53311702+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3           11669       19457    62565142+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda5               2         392     3140676   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6             393        3062    21446743+  83  Linux
/dev/sda7            3063        5031    15815961   83  Linux
hello123
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:08 am

Re: How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Postby Death Dream on Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:40 pm

Here is a post that fred gave me to auto mount one of my partitions: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=17259#p104814

Should be able to pick that apart and get what you want.

~Death Dream~
User avatar
Death Dream
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:23 am

Re: How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Postby Lolo Uila on Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:32 pm

Do you want the drives to appear as icons on the desktop, or would you like them to be accessible from your home directory?

For desktop icons create a folder in /media and edit your fstab file to mount the drive there. Mint will then show a desktop icon for that drive next time you restart (or you can just manually mount it for this session).

Code: Select all
sudo mkdir /media/NTFS /media/FAT32
sudo gedit /etc/fstab

Delete any other entry for the Windows partitions that are there, and add this at the end.
Code: Select all
/dev/sda2    /media/NTFS    ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
/dev/sda3    /media/FAT32    vfat defaults 0 0

Of course you can name the new folders whatever you want and adjust the above as needed. Restart and you should have icons in your desk.

I personally don't like too much clutter on my desktop, so I mounted my NTFS data drive in /media (which ends up on the desktop) but for my other Windows partitions that I don't need to access frequently I created the folder mount points in "/mnt", and put links into "/home/partitions" that point to the Windows mount points. Mint5 seems to auto mount anything in /media to the desktop, but does not do this for /mnt (allowing me to put it where I want).

My fstab file looks like this:

Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume2 /    ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume7 /home    ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume6 /usr    ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume8 /var    ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume9 none    swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0    /media/cdrom0          udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/fd0    /media/floppy0          auto rw,user,noauto 0 0
# NTFS Partitions
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume1 /mnt/NTFS-C    ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
/dev/mapper/isw_bdijicaebf_RAID_Volume5 /mnt/NTFS-H ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
/dev/sda5             /media/NTFS-685       ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

And in my home directory I have a folder called "Partitions" and in there I have links to /mnt/NTFS-C & /mnt/NTFS-H.
User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Re: How can I auto mount my windows partitions?

Postby lordrayden on Fri Oct 03, 2008 7:30 pm

My /etc/fstab looks like this:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda8
UUID=88edf29c-8001-4c5a-a585-92b0f77d1c07 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda7
UUID=2ea910fe-db28-4ff1-b05b-461719bd3beb /home ext3 relatime 0 2
# /dev/sda6
UUID=12d34615-8bfb-43bd-80ee-c12a56649171 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

#NTFS

/dev/sda1 /media/WINDOWS auto,ntfs-3g,rw,user,exec 0 0
/dev/sda5 /media/DATA auto,ntfs-3g,rw,user,exec 0 0

Is there any security issue for me with what I did?
lordrayden
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:57 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests