Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby Jammeramd64x2 on Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:26 pm

First off!
Hi ALL,....Greetings from the noobs section...

Happy 17th Linux!!!

I have successfully installed Linux Mint5_r1... But I cannot get the menu.lst to edit.. Linux Mint Rocks!!.....

I Should correct myself here, I can edit the menu.lst, but the system does not accept the changes, and It boots to Mint.. instead of vista. My edit of menu.lst consisted of changing the default of 0 to 6 , and, timeout to 2, I guess I could change the number default to 5 or 4 , or 7 maybe but I don't know so thats why I,m here.. Thanks in Advance Signed unhappy booter..... jammeramd64x2

p.s. I fixed my problem by choosing a default of 4...I am used to Ubuntu8.4.... Linux rocks Mint 5 RULES!!!!
Jammeramd64x2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: central (u.s.a.)North Dakata (center)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby Husse on Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:20 am

Welcome to Mint
Why Vista as the default :)
And it has nothing to do with Ubuntu - it is because grub starts counting at zero, so sda1 is (hd0,0) in grubbish :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby Jammeramd64x2 on Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:45 pm

Because I build systems for people, and most don't use Linux yet....So I try to give them an alternative to messed up windows.... Hope this answers your question... Thanks for the reply...
Well I guess I relearned that again, but i have to use a different default in Ubuntu.. I thought.. I could be wrong though..
jammmeramd64x2
Jammeramd64x2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: central (u.s.a.)North Dakata (center)

Re: Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby belovedmonster on Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:39 pm

No manual text editing required! Install something from the Synaptic called Startup Manager (or similar, I'm not in front of my Mint at the moment but I'm pretty sure that is its name). Not only will this bad boy let you select which is the default boot option but gives you a bunch of other options like how many kernals are displayed on the start up menu and stuff like that. This is one of those apps I ALWAYS install. It just makes administrating this stuff so much easier.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby AK Dave on Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:38 pm

User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Changing the Default Boot to Vista Problem

Postby Jammeramd64x2 on Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:37 pm

Belated thanks.... jammeramd64x2
:D :mrgreen:
Jammeramd64x2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: central (u.s.a.)North Dakata (center)


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests