Cannot Install on my new rig

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Cannot Install on my new rig

Postby greatgreenguru on Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:23 pm

Guys,
I have just purchased a new gaming rig and my intention was to have a small linux partition. My laptop and other desktop both run LinuxMint; the laptop completely and the desktop as dual boot. On both, mint installed 'out of the box' and its detection properties were awesome! It is my favourite distro but refuses to install or boot as a live cd on my new pc. It is a E6600 with 2 SATA 2 drives and an 8800GTS gpu. I have read that it is most likely the graphics card causing the error but that many problems have been experienced with sata drives. Not hugely keen on blindly trying to reconfigure my BIOS but more than happy to take direction.

I will list the errors from install in the next post.

Thanks for listening,

Rob
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby greatgreenguru on Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:34 pm

The errors are:

PCI JMB36x Enabling Dual Function
PCI Cannot allocate resource 0
PCI Cannot allocate resource 1
PCI Cannot allocate resource 2
PCI Cannot allocate resource 3
PCI Error while updating region 0000:02:00.0/0
PCI Error while updating region 0000:02:00.0/2

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby greatgreenguru on Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:04 pm

Anyone..?

Bueller...?

Anyone...?

Bueller...?

Bueller..?
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby Alephcat on Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:07 pm

I suspect that you may be right about your graphics card since a quick googleing reveals it to be a "vista ready" card, thus it may work in a slightly different way to its predecessors, or it may simply just be too new. sorry for the lack of specific help but I am just about to go home from work, I will see if I can come up with anything better once I get home.
"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due."
User avatar
Alephcat
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:13 am
Location: Chester

Postby scorp123 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:40 pm

Alephcat wrote:I suspect that you may be right about your graphics card ...
And this assumption is based on what?! Since you appear to know how to use Google, why oh why didn't you just Google for the error message? You might have found this:
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.17/+bug/57502

So the graphics card clearly isn't the problem, Vista has nothing whatsoever to do with this. :D

greatgreenguru wrote: I have just purchased a new gaming rig and my intention was to have a small linux partition. ... It is a E6600 with 2 SATA 2 drives and an 8800GTS gpu.
Can you please check the technical specifications and tell us what SATA controller you have in that machine? Also: Can you please try any other Linux distro and see if the error appears again? We have to troubleshoot. It's either a hardware problem (meaning that NO Linux whatsoever will work), a temporary kernel problem (meaning that a newer distro with a newer Kernel version might work), a distribution related problem (meaning that only Ubuntu and Ubuntu-based distros such as Mint have this problem; others such as OpenSUSE, Fedora, Mandriva, Gentoo, etc. maybe don't have this problem) or only a Mint-related problem (meaning that maybe a newer version of Ubuntu such as the new 7.04 "Feisty" might work?)
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Alephcat on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:21 pm

sorry I was tired and just about to leave work so I missed the middle post
"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due."
User avatar
Alephcat
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:13 am
Location: Chester

Postby scorp123 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:17 pm

Alephcat wrote:sorry I was tired and just about to leave work so I missed the middle post
We forgive you :D
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby greatgreenguru on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:58 pm

Guys,

Thanks for your help so far, sorry for the bump.
I guess the problem is the mobo after reading your link. As requested though:

Motherboard:
CPU Type DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2400 MHz (9 x 267)
Motherboard Name Foxconn P9657AA-8EKRS2H (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x4, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset Intel Broadwater P965
System Memory 2048 MB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (01/23/07)
Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS (640 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek ALC883 @ Intel 82801HB ICH8 - High Definition Audio Controller [B-0]

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel(R) ICH8 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller - 2825
IDE Controller Intel(R) ICH8 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller - 2820
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Storage Controller VAX347S SCSI Controller
Disk Drive WDC WD2500KS-00MJB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive WDC WD2500KS-00MJB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive LITE-ON DVD D LH-16D1P
Optical Drive SCSIVAX DVD/CD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device
Optical Drive TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-S182D (DVD+R9:8x, DVD-R9:8x, DVD+RW:18x/8x, DVD-RW:18x/6x, DVD-RAM:12x, DVD-ROM:16x, CD:48x/32x/48x DVD+RW/DVD-RW/DVD-RAM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

I will read the Ubuntu link thoroughly but a quick skim seems to suggest waiting for future kernel upgrades.

Thanks for all your help, this is what makes Linux great and in particular this distro!

Cheers,

Rob
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby greatgreenguru on Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:03 pm

OpenSuSE and Mandriva also refuse to install or run as live CDs, will try KNoppix tomorrow when I retrieve my disk from work.
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby scorp123 on Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:37 am

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Core_2_Duo_Support

" ... Foxconn P9657AA-8EKRS2H with Ubuntu Edgy. Random freezes. Edgy does not support motherboard integrated Marvell LAN card so using a Netgear PCI LAN card. Vanilla Edgy set-up (i.e. not using Nvidia provided drivers etc). Hardware works find under Windows XP. Had to disable APIC in BIOS to get Edgy installed otherwise random lockups during installation. Windows would not boot with APIC disabled, so re-enabled it after Edgy installed. ..."
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby greatgreenguru on Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:20 pm

Ok. Disabling APIC through the BIOS, as suggested, does allow me to run the live CD. I then ran into the graphics card problem but following the instructions elsewhere on this forum allowed me to get all the way into mint and install. As reported, windows will not boot with APIC disabled and if I enable it Mint again refuses to boot.

I appreciate all your help to get me to this point but I think that I will wait for a future release that I can step into without the headaches before installing on here. I will, however, continue to use it on my laptop because I do believe it is the best distro out there for me.

Thanks again and keep up the good work!

Rob
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby cogDis on Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:03 pm

Have you tried passing the kernel parameter NOAPIC to grub at boot? If it works you can edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to make it permanent.

CD
cogDis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:17 pm

Postby greatgreenguru on Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:52 pm

No. What would I have to add?
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Postby cogDis on Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:26 pm

greatgreenguru wrote:No. What would I have to add?



Grub provides for some rudimentary editing at the command line. When you boot your machine and reach the grub screen, select the kernel you wish to boot (or the default if you do not have more than one installed), then press the "e" key on your keyboard. This will drop you to edit mode in the kernel and initrd stanzas for the kernel you have selected. Highlight the kernel line and hit "e" again to edit the line. Scroll to the end of the line and append "noapic" to it. (no quotes). Press enter to commit the change then press "b" to boot the kernel with the new option.

If this works you can edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to include the noapic option. This will make it permanent.

CD
cogDis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:17 pm

Postby greatgreenguru on Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 pm

No joy. Didn't work. Thanks for trying though.
greatgreenguru
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests