[SOLVED] Blank Screen When Booting LM 6 RC1 Live CD

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Blank Screen When Booting LM 6 RC1 Live CD

Postby adski1234 on Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:11 pm

I'm relatively new to Linux Mint (installed Linux Mint 5 a few months ago, but ended up getting a new laptop soon after). I just downloaded the new Linux Mint 6 RC1 ISO using the torrent. After burning the ISO and rebooting the CD is read and the machine begins booting off of it, I saw a brief flicker of text (looked like a copyright statement) and then the screen went blank. The screen is completely blank except for a small orange-ish dot in the top right corner (about 5 pixels). Hitting enter or generally attempting to "launch" the live cd without being able to see anything all failed.

I assume the live CD has loaded to the first screen where I assume you are prompted to select "boot from live cd" or "Install" and that for some reason the graphics don't display.

Here is what I have tried so far:
1. Burned the ISO (making sure actually burning the image itself, not just copying it to a CD) with Power2Go in vista and Brasero in Ubuntu 8.10.
2. Checked the md5 hash sum and it checks out perfectly.
3. Burned the ISO at slowest speed with both simulation and verification enabled.
4. Tried two different types of blank CD.
5. Re-downloaded the ISO and tried all of the above steps.
6. Confirmed that the boot sequence is set to boot off of CD first and that other BIOS settings look ok.

My Hardware:
Asus G50V-A1
Intel Core 2 Duo/Centrino 2
64bit with 4GB ram
Nvidia 9700GT
Dual 250GB SATA harddrives (not RAIDed and set to "compatible" [legacy IDE] mode in BIOS)