Disk Partition... Help!

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
CraigyP

Disk Partition... Help!

Post by CraigyP »

Hi,

I just wondered if anybody out there could help me please.

I set up a partition on my laptop which I have Mint running on. Truth is I love it so much more than Windows, I mean really love it, and I wanted to make the partition bigger. I'm no expert with partitions but I followed some instructions on Windows which enabled me to set up the initial partition to install Linux Mint on. Now, I don't know if I should go back to Windows and shrink my hard drive some more, if I did I don't know if it would automatically make the Linux partition bigger or not. I really don't have a clue which Linux software to use or what to do. All I do know is which partition I want to make bigger. Or should that be larger?

Hopefully this isn't too stupid a question!

Thanks,

Craig
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
vl1969

Post by vl1969 »

What you need is called gparted,
BUT you can not shrink or expand live partition, ie. The partition you are running from.
Also there is always a chance of something going wrong, thus do a full backup of the system and be ready to reinstall a new, if some how you butch the changes. Boot from live cd and adjust partitions from there. Windows will not help you as it does not understand linux partitions.
Now a bit of trivia, if you had installed on btrfs it would be a lot easier to shrink expand even a live partition, tru you would have to use cli, but it still be easier :-). I however does not advocate the use of btrfs for any noob or close to that level.
It took me almost a year of playing with it to see the benefits and shortcomings of it.