X Fails....

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

X Fails....

Postby rohya.joshi on Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:38 am

hi,

I wanted to try our Linux Mint so I got the Bianca CD, Popped it in CD ROM and started booting... everything was OK till my Monitor Went blank "HV Freq out of range" while loading the Desktop.
I tried with safe graphics, tried reducing the resolution, but all in vain.I have the same problem with Ubuntu 6.10 Live CD.

My Hardware Config:
AMD Athlon X2 3600+
Asus M2NPV-VM (Nforce 430)
Geforce 7300GT PCI-E
Viewsonic E50 15" Monitor (1024x768 @ 70Hz Max)

Is there any work around? Please Help me out... I want to Install MintLinux.

Thanks for your Help,
Rohit
rohya.joshi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:28 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:21 pm

Is that an LCD monitor? and are you using a DVI cable or CRT (D15)?
if it is an LCD can you set it to 60Hz via the monitor?
I am just wondering if it is the refresh rate of the LCD as I have seen the same thing with LCDs on all sorts of systems. even on running systems some LCD just wont give a picture while others will. an out of range signal thing.

have you another monitor you can test with?
:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:29 am

Just saw this - welcome rohya.joshi
You might be helped by editing your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
The section of interest is like this in my system:
Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
---
If it's a LCD monitor change your values to
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
and I think it solves the problem as I believe the message you get means that your HorizSync is out of range, possibly also the vertical one.
Oh, if it's installed just log into "Recovery mode" and edit
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Boo on Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:25 am

turns out he fixed it by getting rid of the "quiet" from grub/menu.lst and some "gui" entry in there too.
:wink:
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], SMarais and 19 guests